Carlos Santana was surprised to learn his ground-rule double was actually a homer

Kevin Kaduk
Big League Stew

Carlos Santana's adventures in baserunning continued at Kauffman Stadium on Thursday night as the Cleveland Indians first baseman turned in another funny blooper on the basepaths.

But luckily for the Tribe,  this one was just for straight laughs and didn't hurt the team like Santana's Little League mistake on Tuesday night. Watch what happens as Santana pulls up at second, thinking his fifth-inning homer was actually a ground-rule double:

Embarrassing as Carlos Gomez's complete home run trot on a foul ball last month? Not in the slightest. But the look on Santana's face after being informed his ground-rule double was actually twice as nice was still pretty chuckleworthy.

Though Santana's blast tied the game at six, the dugout smiles didn't last that long for the Indians as they fell to the Royals 7-6 in 11 innings. That's six straight losses for Cleveland, which puts them 7 1/2 games behind first-place Chicago in the AL Central.

Want more baseball fun all season long?
Follow @bigleaguestew@KevinKaduk and the BLS Facebook page!

What to Read Next