Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson paired together for the first two rounds of the PGA Championship

Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson paired together for the first two rounds of the PGA Championship

If the PGA of America wanted to make a splash with their opening round pairings for next week, they found the two names to do it.

Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson, who have combined to win 19 major championships, will be paired together for the opening two rounds of the PGA Championship next week at Valhalla. Woods and Mickelson will be joined by Padraig Harrington, the 2008 PGA Champion, and will go off at 8:35 AM ET on Thursday and 1:45 PM ET on Friday.

How have Tiger and Phil done when in the same group over the years? The Golf Channel's Ryan Lavner broke down the numbers.

The rest of the pairings are below, with some other juicy groups. Rory McIlroy will play with Bubba Watson and Martin Kaymer, the traditional PGA Championship pairings of the three major winners together, and Jordan Spieth, Adam Scott and Lee Westwood will go out together in a marquee group of big names.

Check out the times below, all ET, and let us know which group you will follow if you're out at Valhalla for the final major of the season.

Round 1, Round 2 (All Times ET)

1st tee, 10th tee

7:30 AM, 12:40 PM — Brian Norman, Russel Knox, Roberto Castro

7:40 AM, 12:50 PM — Charles Howell III, Aaron Krueger, Joost Luiten

7:50 AM, 1:00 PM — Billy Horschel, Jamie Broce, George Coetzee

8:00 AM, 1:10 PM — Brian Stuard, Brendon Todd, Pablo Larrazabal

8:10 AM, 1:20 PM — Nick Watney, Freddie Jacobson, Brendon de Jonge

8:20 AM, 1:30 PM — Matt Every, Ross Fisher, Kevin Chappell

8:30 AM, 1:40 PM — John Daly, Mark Brooks, Rich Beem

8:40 AM, 1:50 PM — K.J. Choi, Thongchai Jaidee, Brian Harman

8:50 AM, 2:00 PM — Thomas Bjorn, Kevin Stadler, Harris English

9:00 AM, 2:10 PM — Jamie Donaldson, Stewart Cink, Hyung-Sung Kim

9:10 AM, 2:20 PM — Stephen Gallacher, Jason Kokrak, Rafael Cabrera-Bello

9:20 AM, 2:30 PM — Kevin Streelman, Ryan Helminen, Edoardo Molinari

9:30 AM, 2:40 PM — Brendan Steele, Rob Corcoran, WGC-Bridgestone champion

10th tee, 1st Tee

7:35 AM, 12:45 PM — Robert Karlsson, Frank Esposito, Koumei Oda

7:45 AM, 12:55 PM — Hideki Matsuyama, Angel Cabrera, Patrick Reed

7:55 AM, 1:05 PM — Shaun Micheel, Colin Montgomerie, Michael Block

8:05 AM, 1:15 PM — Rickie Fowler, Victor Dubuisson, Ernie Els

8:15 AM, 1:25 PM — Jordan Spieth, Adam Scott, Lee Westwood

8:25 AM, 1:35 PM — Jimmy Walker, Ian Poulter, Jason Day

8:35 AM, 1:45 PM — Padraig Harrington, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods

8:45 AM, 1:55 PM — Graeme McDowell, Brandt Snedeker, Brooks Koepka

8:55 AM, 2:05 PM — Miguel Angel Himenez, Charl Schwartzel, Jim Furyk

9:05 AM, 2:15 PM — Matt Kuchar, Louis Oosthuizen, Justin Rose

9:15 AM, 2:25 PM — Marc Leishman, Boo Weekley, Bernd Wiesberger

9:25 AM, 2:35 PM — Russ Henley, David McNabb, Marc Warren

9:35 AM, 2:45 PM — Mikko Ilonen, Jerry Smith, George McNeill

1st Tee, 10th Tee

12:45 PM, 7:35 AM — Ryo Ishikawa, Matt Pesta, Rory Sabbatini

12:55 PM, 7:45 AM — Scott Stallings, Eric Williamson, Matteo Manassero

1:05 PM, 7:55 AM — Jonas Blixt, Webb Simpson, Erik Compton

1:15 PM, 8:05 AM — Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Graham DeLaet, Gary Woodland

1:25 PM, 8:15 AM — Sergio Garcia, Steve Stricker, Tom Watson

1:35 PM, 8:25 AM — Kenny Perry, Ryan Moore, Henrik Stenson

1:45 PM, 8:35 AM — Bubba Watson, Martin Kaymer, Rory McIlroy

1:55 PM, 8:45 AM — Jason Dufner, Y.E. Yang, Keegan Bradley

2:05 PM, 8:55 AM — Luke Donald, J.B. Holmes, Francesco Molinari

2:15 PM, 9:05 AM — Zach Johnson, Darren Clarke, Richard Sterne

2:25 PM, 9:15 AM — Tim Clark, Paul Casey, Kevin Na

2:35 PM, 9:25 AM — Steven Bowditch, Rod Perry, Ben Crane

2:45 PM, 9:35 AM — David Hronek, Chris Stroud, Jason Bohn

10th Tee, 1st Tee

12:40 PM, 7:30 AM — Shane Lowry, Bob Sowards, Ryan Palmer

12:50 PM, 7:40 AM — Charley Hoffman, Dustin Volk, Scott Brown

1:00 PM, 7:50 AM — Alexander Levy, Stuart Deane, David Hearn

1:10 PM, 8:00 AM — David Tentis, Farbizio Zanotti, Danny Willett

1:20 PM, 8:10 AM — Anirban Lahiri, Bill Haas, John Senden

1:30 PM, 8:20 AM — Vijay Singh, Davis Love III, David Toms

1:40 PM, 8:30 AM — Cameron Tringale, Scott Piercy, Kiradech Aphibarnrat

1:50 PM, 8:40 AM — Branden Grace, Hunter Mahan, Thorbjorn Olesen

2:00 PM, 8:50 AM — Chris Kirk, Matt Jones, Seung-Yul Noh

2:10 PM, 9:00 AM — Jerry Kelly, Tommy Fleetwood, Hideto Tanihara

2:20 PM, 9:10 AM — Will Mackenzie, Steve Schneiter, Chesson Hadley

2:30 PM, 9:20 AM — Johan Kok, Ben Martin, Chris Wood

2:40 PM, 9:30 AM — Daniel Summerhays, Jim McGovern, Reno-Tahoe Champion