Simon Dyson disqualified for clearly tapping down a mark in his line at the BMW Masters

The thing about the rules of golf is that some of the rules take much deliberation while others are cut and dry. Simon Dyson fell into that second group on Saturday at the BMW Masters in Shanghai.

Dyson had shot a pair of 2-under 70s at the BMW Masters and found himself in a tie for second place as he was set to tee off in one of the last groups for his third round when European Tour officials told him he had been disqualified from the tournament for a rules infraction.

The rule is 16-1a, which basically says you can't touch the line of your own putt, something Dyson clearly does in the below video.

As you see, Dyson marks his ball, and quickly taps down what appears to be a spike mark with his ball as he picks it up to clean off.

Any junior golfer with a decent knowledge of the rules of golf knows this is a violation, and while a lot of the rules don't clearly state why it isn't allowed, knocking down something that could prohibit your golf ball from rolling smoothly in the hole is pretty obvious.

Dyson was not available for comment after his round, but him missing out on what looked like it might be a big check might cost him more than just the BMW Masters. Dyson is currently 66th in the Race to Dubai, and the finals that take place next month take just the top-60 players on the list.

Since Dyson isn't eligible to play in the HSBC Champions next week, this mishap with the rules could cost him a trip to Dubai, which is something nobody wants to miss out on considering the financial implications that come with such a visit.

video h/t to Golf Central Daily

- - - - - - -

Shane Bacon is the editor of Devil Ball Golf and Busted Racquet on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or

What to Read Next