The game of golf can be screwy at times. Take Danny Lee's DQ at the Nationwide Tour's Soboba Golf Classic. Following a 2-under 69 in the opening round, Lee seemed to be in good position when he tee off on Friday.
But his game went south in a hurry in the second round, as Lee fired a 9-over 44 on the front nine. As the Nationwide Tour's Twitter account noted, he ended up pulling out of the tournament with a wrist injury. It's the same one that forced him to miss time earlier in the season.
There's nothing wrong with having to WD from an event due to injury, but Lee's decision had an interesting twist on Friday. Instead of getting a "WD" next to his name, the New Zealander ended up getting disqualified from the event.
In one of the most bizarre rules decisions I've ever seen, Lee was DQ'd for what the Nationwide Tour called an "improper withdrawal." Apparently officials never got word of Lee's WD. But if he's leaving the course midway through a round, you can probably deduce it had something to do with an injury flaring up.
Quite honestly, the rules decision doesn't affect Lee that much because he was pulling out of the event anyway, but I think it's absurd that you can get DQ'd for an improper WD. It's the equivalent of losing a basketball game by 38 points and then hearing later that officials decided to count a last-second three-pointer from the winning team.
It doesn't really matter in the long-term, but the decision to DQ Lee for that reason alone just seems ridiculous to me.