The long saveless nightmare continues, Acosta owners

Manny Acosta lost the save he was mistakenly awarded last night. He entered the game with one out and nobody on base in the ninth, leading 5-2.

This is the rule regarding saves:

The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when such pitcher meets all four of the following conditions:
(a) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
(b) He is not the winning pitcher;
(c) He is credited with at least a third of an inning pitched; and
(d) He satisfies one of the following conditions:
(1) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning;
(2) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck; or
(3) He pitches for at least three innings.

So Acosta still has not officially saved a game since April 24. At least he picked up a cheap win today. This is one of the more aggravating closer situations you'll invest in, ever. The job is a curse.

It appears that whoever has John Smoltz parked on the DL in your league may eventually gain a closer with SP eligibility. "I can visualize him locking up a lot of games for us," Bobby Cox has said, even though Smoltz is dealing with shoulder inflammation.

Meanwhile, Mike Gonzalez's return has been delayed and Rafael Soriano is somehow both completely healthy and in great pain.

The whole Atlanta bullpen is a theater of pain.

In other stat correction news, Max Scherzer picked up three bonus earned runs because the missile that collided with Stephen Drew was ruled a hit. It was originally scored an error.

You can always find these little annoyances by going to the "Players" tab on your league page, then to "Stat Corrections."

What to Read Next