Floyd Mayweather, Timothy Bradley, Ruslan Provodnikov take top Boxing Writers awards

Kevin Iole
Boxing Experts Blog

Floyd Mayweather Jr. has long been regarded as the best fighter in the world, even by those who aren't particularly fond of his style. The Boxing Writers Association of America on Tuesday named him its 2013 Fighter of the Year after he scored wide unanimous decision victories last year over Robert Guerrero and Canelo Alvarez.

The surprising part of it is that it is only the second Fighter of the Year award for Mayweather from the BWAA. He previously won it from the group in 2007. He's been a professional, though, since 1996 and this marks just the second time in 17 years he's been so honored. Yahoo Sports in December chose Mayweather as its 2013 Fighter of the Year.

Scroll to continue with content

The 2013 BWAA Fight of the Year is also one that was chosen by Yahoo Sports. The BWAA will honor Timothy Bradley and Ruslan Provodnikov with its Ali-Frazier Award for their epic battle last March at what was then known as the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

The BWAA's other awards, as announced on Tuesday, are:

Eddie Futch Award for Trainer of the Year: Freddie Roach

Cus D'Amato Award for Manager of the Year: Al Haymon

Barney Nagler Award for long & meritorious service: Tie between Lee Samuels, p.r. director of Top Rank, and broadcaster "Colonel" Bob Sheridan

Sam Taub Award for Excellence in broadcast journalism: Paulie Malignaggi, Showtime

Marvin Kohn Award for good guy : Jimmy Lennon Jr.

Bill Crawford Award for courage in overcoming adversity: Paul Williams

Congratulations to all of the winners. This is a link to most of the winners, though the BWAA hasn't updated it with the last two years' winners.

What to Read Next