Marquee Masters' groups tee times for opening round Thursday

NBC on Yahoo Sports

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Defending champion Adam Scott received a traditional grouping, Phil Mickelson was given a familiar one and three of the game’s brightest young stars will play together in the opening two rounds of the Masters.

Teeing off at 10:41 a.m. ET on Thursday, Scott will begin his title defense alongside PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner and U.S. Amateur champion Matthew Fitzpatrick.

Three-time Masters champion Mickelson is no stranger to a late Thursday tee time and he received one yet again, playing at 1:48 p.m. ET with a pair of familiar faces in Justin Rose and Ernie Els. Mickelson defeated Els down the stretch of his first Masters victory in 2004.

Perhaps the most highly anticipated group comes in the form of a trio of young stars who are a combined 67 years old: Rory McIlroy (24), Patrick Reed (23) and Jordan Spieth (20).

The opening round will begin once again with Arnold Palmer, Gary Player and Jack Nicklaus as the three honorary starters at 7:40 a.m. ET. They will be followed by the twosome of Stewart Cink and Tim Clark at 7:45.

The final group of the day will tee off at 1:59 p.m. ET and it includes former University of Georgia teammates Harris English and Russell Henley along with Lee Westwood.

What to Read Next