All-Big East Conference teams released for boys-girls basketball and wrestling


The Big East Conference has announced its 2022-23 all-conference teams for boys and girls basketball and wrestling.

Here are the teams:

Boys Basketball

First Team: Seniors Oliver Vincent and Tate VanOtterloo of Beresford, juniors Alec Squires of Sioux Valley and Jovi Wolff of Chester Area and sophomore Boston Katzer of McCook Central-Montrose.

Second Team: Senior Patrick Carey of Sioux Valley; juniors Jack Erickson of Baltic, Andrew Atwood of Beresford and Ray Travnicek of Parker; and freshman Luke Sheppard of Flandreau.

Third Team: Senior Sam Schleuter of Garretson and sophomores Mason Sabers of McCook Central-Montrose, Maverick Nelson of Sioux Valley, Layke Wold of Chester Area and Paul Parsley of Flandreau.

Honorable Mention: Seniors Gunner Schultz of Baltic, Jake Goblirsch of Beresford, Max McGreevy and Clay Hansen of Chester Area and Seth VanVliet of Parker; juniors Mark Ditter of Baltic, Ramsey Schweitzer of Garretson, Ty Morrison and Owen Alley of McCook Central-Montrose and Hudsyn Ruesink and Maxwell Engebretson of Sioux Valley; and sophomores Aidan Hamm of Beresford, Alfie Henderson and Micah Otto of Flandreau and Myles Meyer of Parker.

Final Standings: 1. Sioux Valley, 7-0; 2. Beresford, 6-1; 3. McCook Central-Montrose, 5-2; 4. (Tie) Baltic, Chester Area and Flandreau, each 3-4; 7. Parker, 1-6; 8. Garretson, 0-7.

Girls Basketball

First Team: Seniors Landree Wilson of Sioux Valley, Michaela McCormick of McCook Central-Montrose and Logan Bly of Garretson; and juniors Claire Sheppard and Lily Klein of Flandreau.

Second Team: Senior Ashley Bjerke of Sioux Valley, juniors Lizzie Pavlis and Jordyn Williams of Garretson, sophomore Isabelle Bloker of Sioux Valley and freshman Emery Larson of Chester Area.

Third Team: Seniors Anna Reiffenberger of McCook Central-Montrose and Janae Olson of Parker; juniors Sydney Olson of Garretson, Abby Wagner of McCook Central-Montrose and Baylee Breece of Baltic; freshmen Ella Merriman of Beresford and Emmerson Eppard of Chester Area.

Honorable Mention: Seniors Savannah Beeson of Beresford, Kaylor Geraets of Chester Area, Raegen Altman of Garretson, Aubree Kranz of McCook Central-Montrose and Julia Schneider of Sioux Valley; juniors Parker Lessman and Katie Bialas of Parker and Kylie Christensen of Garretson; sophomores Daynica Witzel of Baltic, Sadie Iott of Flandreau and Keyra Kruse of Sioux Valley; freshman Harley Kloth of Beresford; and eighth-grader Jacy Wolf of Chester Area.

Final Standings: 1. Flandreau, 7-0; 2. Garretson, 6-1; 3. McCook Central-Montrose, 5-3; 4. Sioux Valley, 4-3; 5. Beresford, 3-4; 6. Parker, 2-5; 7. Baltic, 1-6; 8. Chester Area, 0-7.


First Team: . Sophomore Landon Flogstad of McCook Central-Montrose (106 pounds); eighth-graders Parker Randall of McCook Central-Montrose and Evan Dressen of Beresford (113); sophomore Trystan Traupel of McCook Central-Montrose and eighth-grader Connor Giedd of Howard (120); eighth-grader Dylan Buseman of Parker (126); senior Austin Hauge of Mount Vernon-Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney and sophomore Tate Miller of Howard (132); sophomore Michael Even of Parker and senior Preston Bohl of Garretson (138).

Junior Jackson Remmers of McCook Central-Montrose (152); sophomores Weston Remmers of McCook Central-Montrose and Karter Headrick of Flandreau (170); senior Mason Pulse of McCook Central-Montrose (182); seniors Charlie Patten of Parker and Landon Schurch of Beresford (195); Seniors Aaron Larson of Vermillion and juniors Kade Grocott of McCook Central-Montrose and Levi Wieman of Parker (220); and senior Austin Hoiten of McCook Central-Montrose (285).

Second Team: Seventh-grader Daniel Dorsey of MVPCS (106); freshmen Owen Schmidt of McCook Central-Montrose (126); senior Jack Even of Parker (145); junior Andrew Even of Parker (152); junior Carter Randall of McCook Central-Montrose (160); senior Logan Bridges of Parker (182); senior Griffin Clubb of Howard (220) and senior Jaden Richter of Garretson (285).

Final Standings: 1. McCook Central-Montrose, 8-0; 2. Parker, 6-3; 3. Beresford, 5-2; 4. (Tie) Mount Vernon-Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney and Garretson, each 4-2; 6. Flandreau, 2-6; 7. Howard, 1-8; 8. Chester Area, 0-4, Sioux Valley's record not available.

Follow Watertown Public Opinion sports reporter Roger Merriam on Twitter @PO_Sports.

This article originally appeared on Watertown Public Opinion: Eleven Sioux Valley Cossacks receive all-conference honors.