Arkansas basketball great was selected to this year’s class of SEC’s Legends

The SEC announced Wednesday that former Hogs power forward Derek Hood will be this year’s SEC Legends section for Arkansas.

Each of the 14 schools in the conference will have a representative at the SEC Tournament. The members will be recognized during halftime of their respective school’s first game.

Hood is the all-time second-leading rebound in Arkansas history, averaging 7.6 rebounds a game. His 1,002 boards ranks behind only Sidney Moncrief’s 1,015.

He was also a decent scorer, averaging 9.5 points a game and scoring 1,247 points as a Razorback. Hood’s scoring abilities peaked at Arkansas his senior year where he averaged 12.4 points a game, with an SEC-best 10.3 boards. He also led the conference in shooting percentage with 56.5% from the floor.

The aforementioned Moncrief and Hood are the only players in Arkansas history with more than 1,000 points and rebounds.

The 6ft-8 forward played at Arkansas between 1995 and 1999, starting 122 out of 131 games. He led the Hogs to 3 NCAA Tournament appearances in 1996, -97, and -98, and a NIT Final Four in 1997.

The SEC Tournament will be held March 13-17 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. Here is the list of Legend set to be recognized:

Alabama – Richard Hendrix

Arkansas – Derek Hood

Auburn – Cliff Ellis

Florida – Taurean Green

Georgia – Rashad Wright

Kentucky – Orlando “Tubby” Smith

LSU – Darrel Mitchell

Ole Miss – Dwayne Curtis

Mississippi State – Timmy Bowers

Missouri – Willie Smith

South Carolina – Joe Rhett

Tennessee – Chris Lofton

Texas A&M – Elston Turner

Vanderbilt – Frank Seckar

Story originally appeared on Razorbacks Wire