Allianz Football League: Derry clinch shootout victory over Dublin in thrilling Division One final

Eoin McEvoy scores Derry's second goal in Sunday's Division One final
Eoin McEvoy scores Derry's second goal in Sunday's Division One final [Inpho]

Derry beat Dublin in a penalty shootout after a thrilling Division One decider ended in a 3-18 to 2-21 draw at Croke Park on Sunday.

Colm Basquel netted for Dublin as the teams went in level at the break.

Shane McGuigan and Eoin McEvoy goals saw Derry move in front but Dublin hit back to take the game to extra-time.

McEvoy struck again and Derry won the shootout 3-1 after Greg McEneaney's last-gasp goal saw a dramatic final go to penalties.

The only goal of the first half went Dublin's way, when the Derry defence failed to deal with Killian McGinnis' shot dropping short, and Basquel was in the right place to take the rebound and fire it into the net.

However, the momentum of the game swung Derry's way when they scored two goals in the space of four minutes early in the second half.

McGuigan buried a penalty after Ethan Doherty was brought down when in on goal, before moments later McEvoy raced through on goal, and he smashed an effort off the underside of the bar and into the net.

Dublin fought back and they scored the last four points of normal time via Liam Smith, Sean McMahon, Ross McGarry and Con O'Callaghan to take the game into extra-time.

Derry went four ahead when Cormac Murphy fed the ball into McEvoy, and he lashed a thunderous goal past Evan Comerford for his second of the day in front of Hill 16.

Dublin finished with 13 men following straight red cards for Brian Fenton and Paddy Small, who were involved in a melee, but McEneaney scored a late, late goal for the Dubs to take it to penalties.

In the spot kicks McGuigan, Glass and Ethan Doherty hit the target as Derry won the league title since 2008.