Akron Public Schools board appoints Akbar, Hall to second year in leadership roles

·1 min read
N.J. Akbar
N.J. Akbar

N.J Akbar and Derrick Hall will lead the Akron Public Schools board for a second year.

The board on Monday night, with Bruce Alexander absent, voted 6-0 to reappoint Akbar as president and Hall as vice president.

Derrick Hall
Derrick Hall

Leadership terms are for one year.

Both are in their third year on the school board.

In remarks following the board votes, Akbar thanked his fellow members for their support.

"In the last year we faced many challenges, and I believe we persisted and have managed them well guided by our priorities and our values," Akbar said. "As a board we have put our community and students first, by approaching every challenge committed to listening and asking the tough questions. Our resulting actions consider what we learn through that commitment as we prioritize transparency and collaboration through the lens of equity."

Contact education reporter Jennifer Pignolet at jpignolet@thebeaconjournal.com, at 330-996-3216 or on Twitter @JenPignolet.

This article originally appeared on Akron Beacon Journal: N.J. Akbar, Derrick Hall to continue to lead Akron Public Schools board