Aaron Rodgers earns PFWA NFL MVP honors

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was selected as the NFL MVP for the 2020 season by the Professional Football Writers of America it was announced Wednesday.

Rodgers, who will lead the Packers against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Sunday’s NFC Championship Game, earned the honor for the third time. He has previously won in 2011 and ’14.

Rodgers completed 372-of-526 passes (NFL-leading and club-record 70.7 completion percentage) for 4,299 yards with a league-leading and club-record 48 TD passes and only five interceptions

The Offensive Player of the Year goes to Derrick Henry of the Tennessee Titans. Henry led the league in rushing for the second straight season and led the NFL in touchdowns.

Henry is the 12th running back to earn the award and the first since the Rams’ Todd Gurley in 2017.

Henry rushed 378 times for a league-leading and franchise-record 2,027 yards and an NFL-best 17 touchdowns. He became the eighth player in NFL history to rush for more than 2,000 yards.

Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Donald, in his seventh season, is the PFWA’s Defensive Player of the Year for the second time in three seasons (2018 and ’20).

Donald started all 16 games and had 45 total tackles (27 solo), 14 tackles for loss, a team-leading 13.5 sacks for minus-86 yards, 26 quarterback hits, four forced fumbles and one fumble recovery.

Rodgers is the eighth consecutive quarterback to be selected MVP by the PFWA and the 31st QB to win the award.