5 reasons why Lamar Jackson will win NFL MVP award in 2023

In 2019, Lamar Jackson became just the second player in NFL history to be unanimous league MVP, but now, a new chapter has arrived, and the Ravens star quarterback is primed to repeat history.

After a contentious offseason, all is well after Baltimore signed him to a five-year, $260 million extension that makes him the third-highest-paid quarterback per year in the league.

They’ve surrounded him with the best offensive talent he has had during his tenure.

John Harbaugh overhauled the scheme by hiring offensive coordinator Todd Monken, who, in the same role with the University of Georgia, helped the Bulldogs win two straight national championships.

Last season, in 12 games, Jackson passed for 2,242 passing yards (186.8 per game). He was 203-for-326 (62.3%), with 17 TD passes and seven interceptions, and had 112 carries for 764 yards and three touchdowns.

Jackson is +1500 to win the NFL’s MVP award in 2023, the fifth-best odds in the league.

We’re giving you five reasons why he’ll return and win the award for the second time in his career.

Revamped offense

Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports
Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Ravens GM Eric DeCosta has surrounded Jackson with the best collection of offensive talent he has had during his tenure, most notably superstar wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. and highly touted first-round draft pick receiver Zay Flowers.

There’s more talent with All-Pro tight end Mark Andrews, running backs J.K. Dobbins and Gus Edwards, and receivers Rashod Bateman, Devin Duvernay, and Nelson Agholor.

Offensive coordinator Todd Monken is probably the most significant addition, and he’ll put Jackson in the best position on every down.

Jackson will play more no-huddle, uptempo offense while using the quarterback’s mobility as his greatest asset.

Jackson gets real QB responsibility

Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports
Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

After dominating while riding training wheels under Greg Roman, Jackson will finally have a real responsibilities at the line of scrimmage.

Jackson had the same responsibilities under Bobby Petrino at Louisville, and he’ll floruish in 2023 on intermediate passes, down-the-field passes, running the football, using his natural instincts, reading the defense, and making his own presnap reads.

Field generals win MVPs, and Jackson will be just that in 2023.

Jackson is HIM

In 2022, Patrick Mahomes won the second MVP award of his six-year career, making him the 10th player ever to win the award twice. His other came in 2018; only Jim Brown and Kurt Warner won two MVPs in less time at the start of a career.Feb 9, 2023.

Lamar Jackson has played 5 seasons for the Baltimore Ravens. He has thrown for 12,209 yards and 101 touchdowns.

He’s earned 2 Pro Bowls, and won the MVP award in 2019.

If not for injury shortened seasons in 2021 and 2022, Jackson would likely already have a second MVP with a far less talented supporting cast.

Jackson will get his deep playoff run

Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports
Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Baltimore has gone 45-16 in games in which Jackson has started, but a deep playoff run or Super Bowl appearance has eluded the All-Pro quarterback.

The Ravens have won just one playoff game since he took over as the full-time starter in 2019, and there have been just two playoff victories since the team’s last Super Bowl title in 2013.

Jackson has missed a combined 11 games the last two years, including last season’s playoff loss to the Cincinnati Bengals, because of injuries.

Jackson will play all 17 games in 2023, he’ll eclipse 4,000-yards passing and win his second MVP award.

Spread formation with big moments

(Photo by Julio Aguilar/Getty Images)
(Photo by Julio Aguilar/Getty Images)

Down the stretch this season, Jackson will face the Bengals, Chargers, Jaguars, 49ers, Dolphins and rival Pittsburgh Steelers in what will be gigantic playoff implicating matchups.

Baltimore is going to spread teams out, creating space for skill players and attacking their positive matchups.

For Jackson, can he be more accurate and efficient, while saving his best performances for the biggest and most urgent moments.

Important note

The past 10 MVP winners (Lamar Jackson 2019) were quarterbacks, with Adrian Peterson being the last non-QB MVP in 2012.

Since 2003, only Peterson, Shaun Alexander and LaDainian Tomlinson have been non-QB MVP’s and they were elite, All-Pro running backs.

For more history, 15 of the last 16 MVPs were quarterbacks.

Hurts will be in the race if he can remain healthy, efficient and elite while continuing to win.

Story originally appeared on Ravens Wire