40 Years ago the NFL MVP resided in Washington

Washington Redskins 1982 History for $300 please.

Answer, “He played 13 seasons for Washington, was a two-time Pro Bowler, once an All-Pro and the 1982 NFL MVP.”

Contestant #1: “Who is Joe Theismann?”

Jeopardy Host: “No”

Contestant #2: “Who is John Riggins?”

Jeopardy Host: “No”

Question: “Who is Art Monk?”

Jeopardy Host: “No, I’m sorry contestants, those are all good responses, but they are not the correct response.”

Theismann was also a two-time Pro Bowler and once All-Pro. He also finished fourth in the Associated Press MVP balloting in this 1982 season. Chargers quarterback Dan Fouts was second, Raiders running back Marcus Allen third and Cowboys quarterback Danny White was fifth.

Riggins was an All-Pro once and Pro Bowler once (hard to believe only once with several very good seasons). He was also the Super Bowl XVII MVP and the following season set a then NFL record rushing for 24 touchdowns.

Monk was a three-time Super Bowl champ and three-time Pro-Bowler. He set an NFL single-season record of 106 receptions in 1984 and led the NFL in 1985 with 81.7 receiving yards per game. He retired the all-time receptions leader in NFL history.

The correct response we are looking for is kicker Mark Moseley. Yes, a kicker was voted NFL MVP.

How is that AP writers voted the Washington kicker the NFL MVP for the 1982 season?

For starters, Washington was the No. 1 seed in the NFC finishing 8-1 in the regular season shortened by strike. In addition, it was also the manner in which they won games.

In the opener at Philadelphia, Moseley connected from 48 yards, sending the game into overtime and then his field goal won the game.

In the December cold at St Louis, Washington couldn’t get the ball in the end zone, but Moseley came through on all four field goal attempts for a 12-7 victory over the Cardinals.

The following week at RFK Moseley was accurate on all three field goal attempts in a 15-14 win over the Giants. His last field goal came with only four seconds remaining as snow was falling on the muddy grass field. It also broke the then NFL record of 20 consecutive field goals made, giving Moseley 21 for the new record.

Moseley would make his next two attempts in New Orleans the following week, extending his consecutive streak to 23 (dating back to the end of the ’81 season) before missing in the season home finale against the Cardinals. Moseley would finish the ’82 season making 20 of 21 field goals for a 95.2% conversion rate.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

40 years ago the 1982 Washington Redskins provided us the launching of the “Hogs,” Riggins SB XVII MVP, Washington finishing 12-1 in the strike-shortened season, Washington Super Bowl XVII champs, defeating Miami 27-17 and yes, their kicker, Mark Moseley was voted NFL MVP.

Story originally appeared on Commanders Wire