4 Beavers earn All-CCHA First Team recognition, most in Division-I history

Mar. 11—BEMIDJI — Four Bemidji State men's hockey players received All-CCHA First Team selections on Monday afternoon.

Kyle Looft, Eric Pohlkamp, Lleyton Roed and Mattias Sholl were each named to the All-CCHA First Team, while Pohlkamp was also named to the All-CCHA Rookie Team. It's the first time in the Beavers' Division-I history four players earned First Team honors, besting a program record three All-CHA First Team selections in 2010 (Dan Bakala, Brad Hunt and Matt Read).

Looft earned his first selection after he led all CCHA skaters in on-ice rating at plus-16 and paced conference blueliners in assists (14) and points (18), despite playing in only 20 games. Scoring four goals, including one on the power play, the BSU captain was fifth among all skaters and first among defensemen in multi-point games (five).

Looft blocked 28 shots at the defensive end and earned CCHA Scholar-Athlete and All-Academic Team recognition. The Mankato native was named the CCHA Defenseman of the Week four times hits season and CCHA Defenseman of the Month twice.

Pohlkamp, a freshman standout, led all CCHA blueliners with six goals and 68 shots during his first league season and finished third with 16 points to earn First Team and Rookie Team honors.

Two of Pohlkamp's tallies were game-winners and he recorded five points (three goals and two assists) on the man-advantage. Playing in 20 of a possible 24 league contests, he recorded at least one point in every conference series that he appeared in, finishing with a plus-8 rating. He helped the Beavers lift their second MacNaughton Cup, the first since 2017. The Brainerd native is a finalist for the league's Rookie of the Year honor.

Roed finished his sophomore season fourth in the CCHA in points (21), recording 10 goals and 11 assists in 24 games for the Beavers. Posting a plus-3 rating, three of his tallies came on the power play. One was shorthanded and two were game-winners.

Roed was second in the league in multi-point games (seven) and recorded 61 shots on goal, with 18 blocks defensively. On Dec. 15, he scored a goal and dished out a pair of assists in a 5-2 victory over Bowling Green. He's a one-time CCHA Forward of the Week and Hobey Baker Memorial Award nominee.

Sholl, a junior netminder, led conference goalies in goals-against average (2.03) and winning percentage (.786), going 10-2-2 with a .924 save percentage in 14 league games for the Beavers. Posting one shutout in conference play, he had 342 saves, including a season-high 46 in a 2-2 tie with Michigan Tech.

Allowing two goals or fewer in 11 of his 14 starts, Sholl made 25 or more saves in seven league contests. The Hermosa Beach, Calif., native was twice named the CCHA Goaltender of the Week this year.

Voting for the 2023-24 All-CCHA Teams and year-end awards was conducted by the eight head coaches at each CCHA member institution, based on CCHA conference games only. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

The league's year-end award announcements continue on Tuesday with the finalists for Defenseman, Goaltender and Forward of the Year.

The 2024 Mason Cup Playoffs resume this Saturday, with top-seeded Bemidji State hosting seventh-seeded Lake Superior State at 7:07 p.m. at Sanford Center in a win-or-go-home Mason Cup playoff semifinal game.

After helping the Beavers sweep Ferris State and advance to the CCHA Mason Cup playoff semifinals, Pohlkamp has been tabbed as the CCHA Defenseman of the Week.

Pohlkamp led the top-seeded Beavers to a Mason Cup quarterfinal series sweep of eighth-seeded Ferris State last weekend, notching five points on three goals and two assists, leading all CCHA defensemen. Two of his tallies came on the power play, while another was the overtime-winning goal in Game 1 in a 5-4 comeback win.

On Saturday, Pohlkamp scored twice in a 4-0 Beavers victory and totaled eight shots on goal and two blocks in the series. He earned his third weekly accolade from the CCHA and his second Defenseman of the Week honor.

Pohlkamp was joined by Lake Superior State's Connor Milburn (Forward), Minnesota State's Alex Tracy (Goaltender) and Michigan Tech's Isaac Gordon (Rookie) as weekly award winners.