2024 Mr., Miss Basketball finalists announced Monday

Mar. 18—FARGO, N.D. — The North Dakota Associated Press of Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association announced the 2024 finalists for the Mr. and Miss Basketball awards on Monday.

LaMoure/Litchville-Marion's Max Musland was nominated for the Mr. Basketball honor. Musland helped lead the Loboes to the Class B State Tournament, where they wound up placing seventh. Prior to the state tournament, Musland was averaging 25.5 points per game and nabbing 6.8 rebounds per game. He dished out more than two assists and snagged 2.6 steals every game. Musland shot 52% and 73.4% from the stripe.

Wylee Delorme, a 6-foot-5 guard out of Devils Lake was also a natural nominee. Delorme's 17.9 points per game, 5.1 rebounds per game and 47.3 shooting percentage helped lead the Firebirds to a Class A State Championship title last weekend. Delorme also shot 68.8% from the line.

Deng Deng of Four Winds/Minnewaukan, Bohden Duffield of Bowman County and North Star's Dane Hagler were also nominated. All three averaged more than 20 points per game.

James Hamilton, Carter Zeller and Isiah St. Romain were the three athletes nominated from the Class AA division. Hamilton played for Fargo South while Zeller was a 6-5 center for Fargo North. St. Romain has been a staple on Williston's roster since he was a freshman. St. Romain averaged 23 points, six rebounds and two assists per game this season.

Musland wasn't the only athlete out of Region 1 to get nominated.

On the girls' side, Edgeley/Kulm/Montpelier's Mataeya Mathern picked up her first Miss Basketball nomination.

The University of North Dakota basketball commit was averaging 17.5 points and 8.2 rebounds per game. She also averaged more than four assists and steals during games. Mathern was shooting at 42% from the floor and 70% from the stripe.

Class B was well represented in this year's list of female nominees.

Rylee Satrom of May-Port-C-G and Maya Vibeto of Our Redeemer's picked up nominations, averaging more than 20 points and four rebounds per contest. May-Port-C-G and Our Redeemer's were both represented at the 2024 Class B State Tournament held in Jamestown from Feb. 29-March 2. May-Port won the state title, defeating Edgeley/KM 55-41.

Jessica Mogen on Watford City was Class A's lone nominee. Mogen led the Wolves in scoring with an average of 19.7 points per game.

Ashton Safranski and Jocelyn Schiller, both out of Class AA programs, rounded out the list of finalists. Safranski, a 5-foot-7 guard for Fargo Davies, was good for an average of 17.4 points and more than six rebounds, steals and assists on any given night. Prior to the state tournament, Safranski was shooting 39.2% from behind the arc.

Schiller ended her career at Grand Forks Red River with a 26.5 points per game average. From the floor, Schiller was 44% while from the line she was shooting 76.2%. She was also good on the boards, usually nabbing at least six rebounds, an unselfish player tallying 6.2 assists per contest and aggressive on defense nabbing 5.5 steals.

2024 Mr. Basketball Finalists

—Max Musland, 6'4 guard, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion

—Wylee Delorme, 6'5 guard, Devils Lake

—Deng Deng, 6'4 forward, Four Winds-Minnewaukan

—Bohden Duffield, 6' guard, Bowman County

—Dane Hagler, 6'5 guard, North Star

—James Hamilton, 6'3 guard/forward, Fargo South

—Isiah St. Romain, 6'3 forward/guard, Williston

—Carter Zeller, 6'5 center, Fargo North

2024 Miss Basketball Finalists

—Mataeya Mathern, 6' guard, Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier

—Jessica Mogen, 5'9 guard, Watford City

—Ashton Safranski, 5'7 guard, Fargo Davies

—Rylee Satrom, 5'9 guard, May-Port CG

—Jocelyn Schiller, 5'7 guard, Grand Forks Red River

—Maya Vibeto, 5'4 guard, Our Redeemer's