2024 Motocross Round 2, Hangtown by the numbers: Jett Lawrence leads flag-to-flag 80% of the time

Jett Lawrence was challenged on two occasions in Moto 2 at Fox Raceway in Pala, California, but rode away from Chase Sexton in the closing laps to extend his winning streak to 24 consecutive motos and 12 straight Outdoor Nationals overall victories. Lawrence is undefeated in this division.

Hunter Lawrence was the fastest rider on the circuit in four of the first seven laps of Moto 2, while Jett was only second or third-best. Chase Sexton was fastest from laps eight through 10 and again in the final two laps.

MX 2024 Rd 01 Pala Fox Raceway Jett Lawrence.jpg
MX 2024 Rd 01 Pala Fox Raceway Jett Lawrence.jpg

Perfection squared: Jett Lawrence wins 24th moto at Fox Raceway and 12th overall MX, has never lost in Pala

Four hours after the conclusion of 250 Moto 2, Haiden Deegan was declared the winner of that class.

  • Dan Beaver


  • Dan Beaver


In winning Moto 2, Jett tied James Stewart for third on the all-time list and is seven races away from tying Ricky Carmichael's record of 31.

According to, after pacing the field flag-to-flag at Fox Raceway, Jett has now led the last 95 laps of competition. That is the fourth-longest streak since this statistic has been tracked, beginning in 2004. Notably, Lawrence also has the second and third-longest streaks he set last year — including one stretch in which he led 105 consecutive laps. Notably, second-best his streak of 97 laps came in the first seven motos of his rookie season last year.

James Stewart's record of 221 laps is safe for the moment.

Jett has been so dominant in the outdoor series that he has led start-to-finish in just under 80% of his starts. He has allowed only four other riders to lead laps since his debut: Ken Roczen led 16 laps (in two motos), Aaron Plessinger seven laps (in two motos), Adam Cianciarulo three laps, and Dylan Ferrandis has two laps at the front of the field.

More impressive still, Jett has been passed for the lead only once in Motocross when he fell at High Point last year in Moto 1 on Lap 6 and allowed Roczen to lead the next six laps. Lawrence passed him with four laps remaining but allowed Roczen to get the jump in Moto 2. Roczen led the first 10 laps of that race before Lawrence took the top spot away with six remaining.


Motocross: Haiden Deegan declared winner at Fox Raceway four hours after end of 250 race

Haiden Deegan’s victory in Moto 2 was under review after he rode off course in that race and may not have slowed sufficiently.

  • Dan Beaver


  • Dan Beaver


Haiden Deegan swept the 250 motos in Pala, and Levi Kitchen finished second in both. Between them, Deegan and Kitchen set 17 of the fastest 20 laps.

With Deegan under threat of penalty following Moto 2 last week, Pro Circuit nearly won their 300th race in the most unlikely of manners. Kitchen gave up the lead in Moto 1 after a course marker got stuck in his boot. He was within two seconds of beating Deegan in the second race, and if Deegan had incurred a one-position penalty in Moto 2, Kitchen would have had the tiebreaker for the overall win.

Previous Hangtown Winners

2023: Jett Lawrence (followed by Dylan Ferrandis, Cooper Webb)
2022: Jason Anderson (Chase Sexton, Eli Tomac)
2021: Dylan Ferrandis (Eli Tomac, Cooper Webb)
2019: Ken Roczen (Eli Tomac, Jason Anderson)
2018: Eli Tomac (Marvin Musquin, Justin Barcia)

2023: Hunter Lawrence (Justin Cooper, Haiden Deegan)
2022: Jett Lawrence (Justin Cooper, Hunter Lawrence)
2021: Justin Cooper (Jo Shimoda, RJ Hampshire)
2019: Adam Cianciarulo (Justin Cooper, Colt Nichols)
2018: Zach Osborne (Jeremy Martin, Aaron Plessinger)

Motocross by the Numbers

Fox Raceway

Supercross by the Numbers

Salt Lake City
St. Louis
Anaheim 2
San Diego
San Francisco

More SuperMotocross News

450 results from Fox Raceway | 250 results
Haiden Deegan waits four hours for Fox victory.
Jett Lawrence remains perfect at Pala and in MX
Cameron McAdoo suffers setback, Ty Masterpool steps in
Garrett Marchbanks, RJ Hampshire crash in Pala
Jeremy Martin not ready to return to MX
RJ Hampshire suggests changes to 250 SX
Tom Vialle: Sophomore sensation wins 250E
RJ Hampshire: 2024 is the year of 24