2023 PGA Championship: Cameron Young penalized two strokes after failing to move mark back to original spot
Cameron Young was off to a great start Friday at the PGA Championship, playing his first six holes — Nos. 10-15 at Oak Hill Country Club in Rochester, New York — 2 under.
However, on No. 16, Young failed to move his marker back to the original spot after placing it one clubhead away to get out of the line of Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama, his playing partners.
“After the other players completed the hole, Young failed to move the ball-marker back to its original position. As a result, when he replaced the ball and holed out, Young had played from a wrong place and incurred the General Penalty (two-strokes) for breaching Rule 15.3,” the PGA Championship Rules Committee said in a statement.
Through 15 holes of his second round, Young was 4 over on the day and 8 over for the championship.