2019 CONCACAF League on Yahoo Sports: Everything you need to know

Yahoo Sports
Herediano celebrates their CONCACAF League championship on Nov. 1, 2018 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. (Getty)
Herediano celebrates their CONCACAF League championship on Nov. 1, 2018 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. (Getty)

The 2019 Scotiabank CONCACAF League kicks off this week, and you can stream the matches live on Yahoo Sports.

Here’s everything you need to know about the competition, how to watch, and more ...

Scroll to continue with content

What is the Scotiabank CONCACAF League?

It’s a club competition to determine qualification for the 2020 CONCACAF Champions League. It takes place from July 30 through November 26 of this year.

How can I watch?

Games will stream live in the English language on Yahoo Sports. Download the app on iTunes and Google Play, or the Yahoo app on Roku. You can also watch on desktop.

Is streaming available internationally?

No, unfortunately it is geo-blocked and for U.S. only.

When are games played?

Games take place Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays in the evening.

How many teams are involved?

A total of 22 teams from North America, Central America and the Caribbean will compete. The teams are as follows:

1 from North America: Forge FC (Canada)

18 from Central America: San Carlos, Herediano, Saprissa (Costa Rica); Motagua, Olimpia, Marathón (Honduras); Tauro, Independiente, San Francisco (Panama); Águila, Santa Tecla, Alianza (El Salvador); Guastatoya, Antigua GFC, Comunicaciones (Guatemala); Managua, Real Estelí (Nicaragua); Belmopan Bandits (Belize)

3 from Caribbean: Waterhouse (Jamaica); Capoise (Haiti); Robinhood (Suriname)

What is the format?

The CONCACAF League is a knockout tournament, with each round featuring home and away legs. It begins with a preliminary round, with six winners advancing to the Round of 16, then winners progress to the quarterfinals, semifinals, and ultimately the finals.

Tiebreakers are the same as group stages in other competitions, with total number of points determining the winner, then goal difference, then goals scored, then away goals scored, etc. These tiebreakers apply all throughout the tournament, even the final.

What is the prize?

The winner qualifies for the 2020 CONCACAF Champions League, which is played in the spring.

Does anyone beside the winner qualify for the CCL?

Yes, five additional teams will. So here’s a list of the teams that will qualify:



Two losing semifinalists

Top two performing quarterfinalists (based on tiebreakers)

What is the history of the competition?

The inaugural CONCACAF League took place in 2017. Olimpia won that tournament, and Herediano won in 2018. Both sides bowed out against MLS teams (New York Red Bulls and Atlanta United, respectively) in the ensuing CCL.

Where can I find more information?

Visit the official CONCACAF website, and keep your eyes on Yahoo Soccer’s Twitter account.

More from Yahoo Sports:

What to Read Next