Thu Oct 14 02:49pm EDT
Sometimes when you've gotta go, you've gotta go, even if it means being docked a game in a tennis match. Former world No. 1 Ana Ivanovic learned this the hard way Thursday when an ill-timed bathroom break caused her to lose the second game of her match in Austria against Barbora Zahlavova Strycova.
Ivanovic won her serve in the match's first game and then asked the chair umpire if she could take a bathroom break. When her request was denied, Ivanovic pleaded but was told that even though there was a change of sides, she wouldn't be allowed to go before Strycova served. The chair umpire said she'd have to go on her own time. To Ivanovic, that meant at that instant. She walked off the court and into the player's locker room.
[Photos: See more of Ana Ivanovic]
When she emerged a few minutes later, Ivanovic learned that she had been docked four points during her absence, one for every 20 seconds she went over the time limit. She protested, saying she thought she had permission, but the umpire's ruling stood.
Using the fire from the incident (and the fire in her belly), Ivanovic ended up winning the match 6-3, 6-2, despite the fact that she said she wasn't feeling better until the final three games of the match.
[Rewind: Dramatic fight interrupts U.S. Open]
After the match, Ivanovic blamed the penalty on a miscommunication and said she was embarrassed. With the win, she advanced to the quarterfinals of the Generali Ladies.
Watch video of the incident below:
Other popular stories on Yahoo!:
• Video: Justin Bieber disses Tom Brady's hair in rap
• Major college changes controversial mascot
• Video: Brett Favre suffers unfortunate accident at practice