Stanley Cup champions

2011 coverage:

The Boston Bruins have won their first Stanley Cup in 39 years and the sixth in franchise history by defeating the Vancouver Canucks in Game 7 of the 2011 NHL final. The Bruins, who lost in the Cup final in 1974, ’77, ’78, ’88 and ’90 since last winning a championship in 1972, beat rival Montreal, Philadelphia, Tampa Bay and the Canucks in the 2011 playoffs.

Year Champions Finalists/challengers Conn Smythe trophy, team
2011 Boston Bruins Vancouver Canucks Tim Thomas(notes), BOS
2010 Chicago Blackhawks Philadelphia Flyers Jonathan Toews(notes), CHI
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins Detroit Red Wings Evgeni Malkin(notes), PIT
2008 Detroit Red Wings Pittsburgh Penguins Henrik Zetterberg(notes), DET
2007 Anaheim Ducks Ottawa Senators Scott Niedermayer(notes), ANA
2006 Carolina Hurricanes Edmonton Oilers Cam Ward(notes), CAR
2005 Season canceled - labor dispute.
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning Calgary Flames Brad Richards(notes), TB
2003 New Jersey Devils Anaheim Mighty Ducks Jean-Sebastien Giguere(notes), ANA
2002 Detroit Red Wings Carolina Hurricanes Nicklas Lidstrom(notes), DET
2001 Colorado Avalanche New Jersey Devils Patrick Roy, COL
2000 New Jersey Devils Dallas Stars Scott Stevens, NJ
1999 Dallas Stars Buffalo Sabres Joe Nieuwendyk(notes), DAL
1998 Detroit Red Wings Washington Capitals Steve Yzerman, DET
1997 Detroit Red Wings Philadelphia Flyers Mike Vernon, DET
1996 Colorado Avalanche Florida Panthers Joe Sakic(notes), COL
1995 New Jersey Devils Detroit Red Wings Claude Lemieux(notes), NJ
1994 New York Rangers Vancouver Canucks Brian Leetch, NYR
1993 Montreal Canadiens Los Angeles Kings Patrick Roy, MON
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins Chicago Blackhawks Mario Lemieux, PIT
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins Minnesota North Stars Mario Lemieux, PIT
1990 Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins Bill Ranford, EDM
1989 Calgary Flames Montreal Canadiens Al MacInnis, CAL
1988 Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins Wayne Gretzky, EDM
1987 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers Ron Hextall, PHI
1986 Montreal Canadiens Calgary Flames Patrick Roy, MON
1985 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers Wayne Gretzky, EDM
1984 Edmonton Oilers New York Islanders Mark Messier, EDM
1983 New York Islanders Edmonton Oilers Billy Smith, NYI
1982 New York Islanders Vancouver Canucks Mike Bossy, NYI
1981 New York Islanders Minnesota North Stars Butch Goring, NYI
1980 New York Islanders Philadelphia Flyers Bryan Trottier, NYI
1979 Montreal Canadiens New York Rangers Bob Gainey, MON
1978 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins Larry Robinson, MON
1977 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins Guy Lafleur, MON
1976 Montreal Canadiens Philadelphia Flyers Reggie Leach, PHI
1975 Philadelphia Flyers Buffalo Sabres Bernie Parent, PHI
1974 Philadelphia Flyers Boston Bruins Bernie Parent, PHI
1973 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks Yvan Cournoyer, MON
1972 Boston Bruins New York Rangers Bobby Orr, BOS
1971 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks Ken Dryden, MON
1970 Boston Bruins St. Louis Blues Bobby Orr, BOS
1969 Montreal Canadiens St. Louis Blues Serge Savard, MON
1968 Montreal Canadiens St. Louis Blues Glenn Hall, STL
1967 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens Dave Keon, TOR
1966 Montreal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings Roger Crozier, DET
1965 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks Jean Beliveau, MON
1964 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1962 Toronto Maple Leafs Chicago Blackhawks  
1961 Chicago Blackhawks Detroit Red Wings  
1960 Montreal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs  
1959 Montreal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs  
1958 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins  
1957 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins  
1956 Montreal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings  
1955 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens  
1954 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens  
1953 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins  
1952 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens  
1951 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens  
1950 Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers  
1949 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1947 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens  
1946 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins  
1945 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1944 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks  
1943 Detroit Red Wings Boston Bruins  
1942 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings  
1941 Boston Bruins Detroit Red Wings  
1940 New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs  
1939 Boston Bruins Toronto Maple Leafs  
1938 Chicago Blackhawks Toronto Maple Leafs  
1937 Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers  
1936 Detroit Red Wings Toronto Maple Leafs  
1935 Montreal Maroons Toronto Maple Leafs  
1934 Chicago Black Hawks Detroit Red Wings  
1933 New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs  
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs New York Rangers  
1931 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Black Hawks  
1930 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins  
1929 Boston Bruins New York Rangers  
1928 New York Rangers Montreal Maroons  
1927 Ottawa Senators Boston Bruins  
NHL takes control of Stanley Cup competition after 1926
1926 Montreal Maroons Victoria Cougars  
1925 Victoria Cougars Montreal Canadiens  
1924 Montreal Canadiens Calgary Tigers
Vancouver Maroons
1923 Ottawa Senators Edmonton Eskimos
Vancouver Maroons
1922 Toronto St. Pats Vancouver Millionaires  
1921 Ottawa Senators Vancouver Millionaires  
1920 Ottawa Senators Seattle Metropolitans  
1919 Montreal-Seattle finals canceled (influenza epidemic)
1918 Toronto Arenas Vancouver Millionaires  
1917 Seattle Metropolitans Montreal Canadiens  
1916 Montreal Canadiens Portland Rosebuds  
1915 Vancouver Millionaires Ottawa Senators  
NHA, PCHA respective champions compete for Cup after 1914
1914 Toronto Blueshirts Victoria Cougars  
1913 Quebec Bulldogs Sydney Millionaires  
1912 Quebec Bulldogs Moncton Victorias  
1911 Ottawa Senators
Port Arthur Bearcats
1910 Montreal Wanderers
Berlin Union Jacks
Edmonton Eskimos
1909 Ottawa Senators (no challengers)  
1908 Montreal Wanderers Toronto Trolley Leaguers  
1907 Kenora Thistles Montreal Wanderers  
1906 Montreal Wanderers
New Glascow Cubs
1905 Ottawa Silver Seven Rat Portage Thistles
Dawson City Nuggets
1904 Ottawa Silver Seven Brandon Wheat Cities
Montreal Wanderers
Toronto Marlboros
Winnipeg Rowing Club
1903 Ottawa Silver Seven
Montreal Victorias
1902 Montreal AAA
Winnipeg Victorias
Toronto Wellingtons
1901 Winnipeg Victorias Montreal Shamrocks  
1900 Montreal Shamrocks Halifax Crescents
Winnipeg Victorias
1899 Montreal Victorias
Montreal Shamrocks  
1898 Montreal Victorias (no challengers)  
1897 Montreal Victorias Ottawa Capitals  
1896 Winnipeg Victorias Montreal Victorias  
1895 Montreal Victorias (no challengers)  
1894 Montreal AAA Ottawa Generals  
1893 Montreal AAA (no challengers)