Puck Daddy - NHL

For the second night in a row, Tampa Bay Lightning forward Dominic Moore(notes) put home a shootout winner to send the Florida Panthers to their third straight one-goal loss, but this one was not without controversy.

In the shootout, Moore's attempt appeared to be stopped by Tomas Vokoun(notes) and the momentum of the Lightning forward's stick looked to have illegally touched the puck again, pushing it into the net:

From Rule 24.2:

"No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete."

The official decision from the NHL's War Room said that the puck did not leave Moore's stick, therefore there was no illegal double hit of the puck.

After the game, Panthers coach Peter DeBoer was still unclear about the ruling.

From George Richards of the Miami Herald:

"I don't know. There's a clear save. The puck was headed to the corner,'' said coach Pete DeBoer, whose team has been on the losing end of just about every close goal call this season. “Whether it stays on his stick and it's jammed into the net, I still don't understand the rationale on that. I'll call and get an explanation on that too.'"

Right call or not, the ending was yet another tough-luck loss for the Panthers who have blown leads in each of their last three games.

Related Articles

Puck Daddy

Add to My Yahoo RSS

Related Photo Gallery

Y! Sports Blog