Puck Daddy - NHL

No. 1 Star: Henrik Sedin(notes), Vancouver Canucks

The much-maligned (at least in this postseason) Sedin came to life in Game 1 of the Western Conference Finals. He helped set up the tying goal in the third period with a pass to Alex Burrows, who found Kevin Bieska to make it 2-2. One minute and 19 seconds later, Sedin scored on the power play to give Vancouver a lead it wouldn't relinquish, taking the opening game of the series 3-2.

No. 2 Star: Antti Niemi(notes), San Jose Sharks

Niemi did what he could to keep the Sharks in the game, making 35 saves. He had 13 saves in the second period, including a tremendous stop on Ryan Kesler(notes) during a scramble late.

No. 3 Star: Maxim Lapierre(notes), Vancouver Canucks

The Vancouver pest tied the game 1-1 in the second period with his first goal of the playoffs, but more importantly his line with Jannik Hansen(notes) and Raffi Torres(notes) controlled play in the Sharks' zone and gave the Canucks a shot in the arm in Game 1.

Honorable mention: Joe Thornton(notes) had a goal and an assist for the Sharks. Patrick Marleau(notes) had the other goal, on a nifty tip on a Dan Boyle(notes) point shot on the power play. … Christian Ehrhoff(notes) had a nice pass on the power play to set up Sedin's goal. … Thornton was 10-5 on faceoffs while Henrik Sedin was 12-5.

Did you know? Actor Cory Monteith of Glee was in the house (and near the Green Men) for Game 1.

Dishonorable mention: Whether or not Raffi Torres embellished it, Dany Heatley's(notes) elbowing penalty just 32 seconds after Vancouver tied the game was a costly one. … Lapierre was whistled for diving in the third period. … Roberto Luongo(notes) had quite the blunder on the Sharks' first goal.

Conn Smythe Watch: 1. Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canuck; 2. Martin St. Louis(notes), Tampa Bay Lightning; 3. Tim Thomas(notes), Boston Bruins; 4. Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks; 5. Sean Bergenheim(notes), Tampa Bay Lightning; 6. Dwayne Roloson(notes), Tampa Bay Lightning; 7. Ryane Clowe(notes), San Jose Sharks; 8. Patrice Bergeron(notes), Boston Bruins; 9. Devin Setoguchi(notes), San Jose Sharks; 10. Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

Related Articles

Puck Daddy

Add to My Yahoo RSS

Related Photo Gallery

Y! Sports Blog