Tiger Woods' former caddie, Steve Williams, said this week that Woods should have been disqualified for taking an illegal drop during the Masters tournament last week at Augusta National. Williams, who caddied for 13 of the 14 majors won by Woods, spoke to a television station in his native New Zealand when he offered his opinion. "From what I can gather, he took an illegal drop, signed a scorecard and left the course," Williams told the television station. "Under most circumstances that would result in disqualification. ... If the rules of golf are upheld, I believe he should have been disqualified." Williams was quick to admit he did not have all the facts, but did think Woods, the No. 1 player in the world, should have been disqualified. He also said that he did not believe his former boss was trying to "gain anything on the field" after his third shot to the 15th green bounced off the flagstick and into the water resulting in a penalty shot. Woods finished in a tie for fourth while Williams' current boss, Adam Scott, won the Masters in a playoff with Angel Cabrera. It was Scott's his first major victory.
- Sports & Recreation
- Tiger Woods