Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Wambach wins FIFA Women's World Player of the Year; Sundhage named top coach
Abby Wambach overtakes Mia Hamm's international goalscoring record

View photo

Abby Wambach overtakes Mia Hamm's international goalscoring record

At long last, Abby Wambach can be called the top women's soccer player in the world.

Wambach, the U.S. women's national team star striker, captured the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award, cementing her place at the top of the mountain after coming close in recent years. Wambach, the first American to win the world's top female honors since Mia Hamm in 2001 and 2002, had finished third in the voting in 2011, fourth in 2004 and 2006, and fifth in 2007 and 2010.

Wambach, 32, had five goals at the Olympics to lead the United States to the gold medal and finished the year with 24 goals. She outlasted international teammate Alex Morgan, who was named U.S. Soccer's Female Athlete of the Year, and Marta, Brazil's five-time Player of the Year winner, to capture the honors. The award was presented by U.S. national team goalkeeper Hope Solo at the FIFA Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich.

Wambach's former coach and the current boss of the Swedish national team, Pia Sundhage, was honored as the top coach of the year in the female game, defeating Bruno Bini of France and Norio Sasaki of Japan. Sundhage stepped down from the U.S. post after winning the gold medal, with former Australia coach Tom Sermanni stepping into the vacated role.

Follow GOAL.COM on Twitter

Does this article fire you up? Comment below and your opinion could be featured in the Boost Mobile Hot Topics published ever Thursday. Click here for more details.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
EPL $20K Nobody Loses 1975/10000 $1 $20000 Tomorrow 10:00 AM Enter
NHL $1.3K Tournament [$125 to 1st] 425/1478 $1 $1300 Today 7:00 PM Enter
NHL $1.5K Tournament [$150 to 1st] 72/341 $5 $1500 Today 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (8)