Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Tour Report: List of pros seeking PLAYERS spot

Players who haven’t already qualified for next week’s THE PLAYERS Championship have one last chance this week to gain entry into the field. But the task is a difficult one – win the Wells Fargo Championship.

Any player who hasn’t already qualified for THE PLAYERS can gain last-minute entry to TPC Sawgrass by winning at Quail Hollow. Among this week’s notables still looking to stamp their PLAYERS ticket are include two former PLAYERS champs: 2006 winner Stephen Ames and 1999 winner David Duval

As of now, 148 players have already qualified and have until 5 p.m. ET on Friday to commit to THE PLAYERS.

Below is the list of players in the Wells Fargo field who have not yet qualified for THE PLAYERS Championship. If some qualified players decide not to play, the highest-ranked non-qualified players currently on the FedExCup points list may be added in order to complete the field of 145 players. Those players and their priority ranking (and overall FedExCup ranking) are also noted below:


Stephen Ames Mark Anderson Stuart Appleby
Cameron Beckman Charlie Beljan Tommy Biershenk
Jonas Blixt Jason Bohn Scott Brown
Miguel Angel Carbello Roberto Castro Gary Christian
Will Claxton Gavin Coles Erik Compton
Marco Dawson Ken Duke – 4 (55th in FEC pts) David Duval
Harris English – 6 (61st in FEC pts) Matt Every – 1 (28th in FEC pts) Steve Flesch
Martin Flores Bobby Gates Mathew Goggin
Nathan Green Brian Harman Billy Hurley III
Troy Kelly Kevin Kisner Colt Knost – 3 (50th in FEC pts)
Jason Kokrak Hank Kuehne Derek Lamely
Danny Lee Richard H. Lee Rick Lewallen
Edward Loar Jamie Lovemark Bill Lunde
Jeff Maggert William McGirt Rocco Mediate
Garth Mulroy Seung-Yul Noh Greg Owen
Ted Potter Jr. Dicky Pride Kyle Reifers
Patrick Sheehan Daniel Summerhays Vaughn Taylor
Kyle Thompson Brendon Todd Mike Weir
Steve Wheatcroft    

View Comments (0)