Tour Report: Discuss: McIlroy GWAA Player of Year

Live Report Image
Live Report Image

Redington/Getty ImagesRory McIlroy won fives times in 2012 and captured the money titles on both the PGA TOUR and European Tours.

Rory McIlroy, Stacy Lewis and Roger Chapman were named 2012 Players of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America on Wednesday.

McIlroy won fives times in 2012, including a tournament-record eight-shot win at the PGA Championship, and won the money titles on both the PGA TOUR and European Tours. The Northern Irishman also won both the PGA TOUR’s Byron Nelson Award and PGA of America’s Vardon Trophy for adjusted low scoring average (68.87) and finished the season with 10 top-10s in 16 starts.

This is the third year in a row — and fourth time in five years — the GWAA award has gone to a European-born player. McIlroy also won the Golf Writers Trophy (a vote of the Association of Golf Writers) and both the PGA and European Tour POY honors.

Chapman started the year with conditional status on the Champions Tour, but the Englishman won the Senior PGA Championship in his first 2012 start. Seven weeks later, he came from four shots back to win the U.S. Senior Open by two shots over Bernhard Langer, 2012 Champions Tour Player of the Year Tom Lehman, Fred Funk and Corey Pavin.  Chapman played in just 12 tournaments and finished fourth on the Charles Schwab Cup standings and 13th on the Champions money list.

Lewis won four times to become the first American since Beth Daniel in 1994 to win the Rolex Player of the Year points list and the first American to win the GWAA’s POY since Juli Inkster in 1999.

What’s your take on McIlroy’s season? How will he fare in 2013? Discuss below.