Titans announce several coaching changes

PFW staff
Pro Football Weekly
Titans re-sign PK Bironas

The Titans added Shawn Jefferson (wide receivers), George Henshaw (tight ends) and Sylvester Croom (running backs) to their coaching staff on Thursday.

Dowell Loggains is now the permanent offensive coordinator, after taking over the role for the final five games of 2012. Dave Ragone will move to quarterbacks from wide receivers, Nate Kaczor moves to special-teams coach from assistant offensive line and Chet Parlavecchio moves to linebackers from special-teams assistant.

Tennessee confirmed that Frank Bush (linebackers), Alan Lowry (special teams), Jim Skipper (running backs) and John Zernhelt (tight ends) will not return next season.

Jefferson spent the past eight seasons as the Lions’ wide receivers coach. Henshaw was the Titans’ tight ends coach from 1997-2005 and was most recently an assistant with the Saints from 2006-07. Croom was the Jaguars’ running backs coach last year and the Rams’ running backs coach from 2009-11.

“I believe with the new coaches that we have added and some shuffling of the current coaches, we have made our staff better,” head coach Mike Munchak said. “We were able to add proven coaches and by moving others around, it will change the dynamic in the meeting rooms and on the field. We still have some spots remaining to fill and I am always looking to improve our staff, so it is still a work in progress.”