Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Sunday Open Thread: Derby Gipuzkoa Edition

SB Nation Teamsite

View photo

.

A couple of early kickoffs in the Premier League before Manchester United visit Sunderland, and a number of fixtures throughout the day in Europe and beyond, including the must-see Basque Country derby between Eibar and Real Sociedad.

The Premier League matches aren't particularly enthralling, as Hull City host Stoke and QPR visit Spurs  early in the day (1:30PM BST/8:30AM EST), and the late kickoff sees Manchester United and their traveling van Gaals head to the Stadium of Light to face a notably Boriniless Sunderland side. But blood and thunder and all that, of course, and it is the best league in the world.

Elsewhere there's some joy to be found, though, and the highlight of the day should be the Basque Country derby between Eibar and Real Sociedad at the Ipurua Stadium. It's Eibar's first-ever match in the Spanish top flight, which they earned via direct qualification--and a fundraising campaign, supported by Xabi Alonso, to reach the required capital and avoid demotion to the third division--last season. Nestled in the mountains, the Ipurua is the smallest stadium in La Liga by some distance, with a capacity of just over 5,000 people. On occasion alone, this one is a must-see when it kicks off at 6:00PM BST/1:00PM EST.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)