Super Bowl 50 live blog:

Sir Alex Ferguson and Gareth Bale claim Barclays end-of-season awards
Howard, Spector and Cooper recall Sir Alex Ferguson experience

View photo

Howard, Spector and Cooper recall Sir Alex Ferguson experience
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson and Tottenham midfielder Gareth Bale have been named Barclays Manager and Player of the Year, respectively.

Ferguson claimed the award after leading Manchester United to its record 20th league title, the 13th time he has personally won the Premier League. The Manchester United boss has been named Manager of the Season a record 11 times, first taking the honor in 1993 and winning it for the last time as he moves on to retirement.

Meanwhile, for Bale, the award is the Welsh midfielder’s fourth individual accolade of the season.

The Tottenham star won both the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year awards this term before also landing the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year gong.

The 23-year-old has scored 20 goals in 33 Premier League appearances this season, becoming the first Tottenham player in history to claim the Player of the Year award.

Follow GOAL.COM on Twitter

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NBA $15K Tournament [$2K to 1st] 498/3410 $5 $15000 Tomorrow 7:00 PM Enter
NBA $10K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 63/455 $25 $10000 Tomorrow 7:00 PM Enter
NBA $3K Tournament [Single Entry] 66/341 $10 $3000 Tomorrow 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (1)