Sir Alex Ferguson denies FA charge over comments after Tottenham draw

Matt Scott
February 1, 2013
Sir Alex Ferguson fined by FA for comments after Tottenham draw

Sir Alex Ferguson has denied a Football Association charge related to comments made about assistant referee Simon Beck following Manchester United's 1-1 draw with Tottenham earlier this month.

Ferguson had blasted the linesman after seeing several decisions go against United and also claimed that Beck had a history of making unfavorable calls against his team. Ferguson was charged on Tuesday, but he has requested a personal hearing into the matter, a date for which has yet to be set.

In the aftermath of the match at White Hart Lane, in which Clint Dempsey struck a last-gasp equalizer after Ferguson thought his team was due a throw-in on the sequence leading to the goal, he said: "I think we should have had a throw-in down our side of the pitch but that linesman never gave us a thing all day.

"For me, it was a poor performance by him. He never saw the penalty kick for Wayne Rooney and some other decisions too.

"We remember him well from his time at the Chelsea game when Didier Drogba was three yards offside and he gave onside. I think he had a shocking game today, and I'm disappointed in his performance, I really am.

"I think he has had a bad game, and we never got anything from that side of the pitch. We got a bad break."

Follow GOAL.COM on Twitter