Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Robben free to play on despite 'diving' comments

AP - Sports
Netherlands defense holding up well at World Cup
.

View gallery

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) -- World Cup organizers will take no action against Arjen Robben after he apparently acknowledged diving during the Netherlands' 2-1 victory over Mexico in Sunday's second-round match.

The Dutch forward is reported to have apologized for diving early in the game, but not when he won the decisive penalty in injury time. He said that was a ''definite foul.''

Robben made his comments about diving on Dutch television, but the Dutch football association issued a statement saying his comments were misunderstood.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer says the disciplinary committee only ''will look into serious infringements.'' She said a yellow card would not be issued retroactively against Robben.

She says: ''We ask the players to play in the spirit of fair play. It's up to the referees to manage a match.''

View Comments (17)