What's buzzing:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday, March 5

Reuters

March 5 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Draft: Big Board

As pro day circuit shifts into high gear, NFLDraftScout.com senior analyst Rob Rang breaks down his best available prospects. (FBN-DRAFT, moved, The Sports Xchange, 1,500 words)

--

Bills postpone Toronto series

With dwindling attendance for what Buffalo Bills dubbed home game, franchise will not play in Toronto as scheduled in 2014. (FBN-BILLS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

--

Bills sign safety - not Byrd

Pro Bowl free safety Jairus Byrd, designated Buffalo Bills' franchise player last season, might not be back but franchise re-signs safety Aaron Williams to four-year deal. (FBN-BILLS-NEWS, expect by 4 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

--

Browns part with troubled WR Bess

Receiver Davone Bess is officially released by Cleveland Browns. (FBN-BROWNS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 250 words)

--

Texas A&M Pro Day: OT Matthews draws a crowd

Offensive tackle Jake Matthews, third-ranked prospect in 2014 draft according to NFLDraftScout.com, draws crowd to his pro day workout where first-round peers Johnny Manziel and Mike Evans are bystanders awaiting their March 27 pro day. (FBN-DRAFT, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

Collins signs second 10-day deal with Nets

Veteran center Jason Collins signs second 10-day contract with Brooklyn Nets. (BKN-NETS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

--

Grizzlies at Nets

BROOKLYN - At .500 (29-29) for first time since Nov. 5, Brooklyn Nets reach for 10th win in 14 games but Memphis Grizzlies are rolling, too, going 7-2 in their past nine games. (BKN-NETS-GRIZZLIES-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 800-word write-through)

--

Mavericks at Nuggets

DENVER - At 36-25, Dallas Mavericks fight to stay in playoff contention. Denver Nuggets, now 10 games out of the eighth playoff spot in Western Conference, are in serious danger of missing postseason for the first time since 2003. (BKN-ROCKETS-HEAT-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0100 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by MK Bower, 400-word first lead, 800-word write-through)

- -

NBA Wrap: Pacers visit Bobcats with eye on extending East lead

Indiana Pacers look to widen their Eastern Conference lead when they seek sixth consecutive victory versus host Charlotte Bobcats in one of 10 games on NBA schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 550 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

Recapping the deadline deals

Rundown of all moves worth mentioning from Wednesday's NHL trade deadline. (HKN-NEWS expect by 2230 GMT/5:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

--

Deadline headliner: St. Louis to Rangers

In deadline trading period dominated by big names, another changes teams when Tampa Bay Lightning trade All-Star right wing Martin St. Louis to New York Rangers for right wing Ryan Callahan and two draft picks. (HKN-LIGHTNING-RANGERS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 425 words)

--

Maple Leafs at Rangers

NEW YORK - Toronto is 0-2 against Rangers this season and last won at Madison Square Garden in Dec. 2011. (HKN-RANGERS-MAPLELEAFS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Everett Merrill, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

--

Canadiens at Ducks

ANAHEIM, Calif. - After active trade deadline brings new goalie and defenseman, Anaheim Ducks host Montreal. Canadiens whipped Anaheim 4-1 on Oct. 24 in only other meeting this season. (HKN-DUCKS-CANADIENS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0300 GMT/10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Everett Merrill, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

NHL Wrap: Streaking Ducks look to make it fourth straight

National Hockey League-leading Anaheim Ducks seek fourth consecutive victory when they host Montreal Canadiens in one of four games on schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 900 words)

- - - -

COLLEGE BASKETBALL

Louisville (11) at SMU (18)

DALLAS - SMU can close season with statement - and conference championship - by handling Louisville and winning at Memphis on Saturday. (BKN-SMU-LOUISVILLE-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 800-word write-through)

--

Duke (4) at Wake Forest

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - To snag No. 1 seed in NCAA Tournament, Duke Blue Devils need to secure Tobacco Road with wins against Wake Forest and Saturday in rematch with sizzling rival North Carolina. (BKN-WAKEFOREST-DUKE-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 800-word write-though)

--

Texas Tech at Kansas (8)

LAWRENCE, Kan. - Senior Night at Allen Fieldhouse could also be swan song for talented freshman Andrew Wiggins as Kansas closes regular season against Texas Tech team that came within basket of upsetting Jayhawks in a 64-63 loss Feb. 18. (BKN-KANSAS-TEXASTECH-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect after 0200 GMT/9 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 800-word write-through)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: WGC-Cadillac Championship (to March 9)

Top 50 ready to take on Blue Monster

DORAL, Fla. - Top 50 ranked players arrive at Doral for WGC-Cadillac Championship ready to take on newly renovated Blue Monster Course; however, world No. 1 and defending champion Tiger Woods remains uncertain due to sore back. (GOLF-PGA/ (UPDATE 1, PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- -

Woods, McIlroy and Scott to hold press conferences

DORAL, Fla. - World No. 1 Tiger Woods, Master champion Adam Scott and Rory McIlroy are among those scheduled to hold press conferences ahead of start of WGC-Cadillac Championship. (GOLF-PGA/WOODS (UPDATE 1, PIX), expect lead by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

- - - -

AUTO RACING

NASCAR

Driver capsules

Look at week ahead in NASCAR from perspective of Sprint Cup's top 25 drivers. (CAR-SPRINT-DRIVERCAPSULES, expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words per driver)

- - - -

OSCAR PISTORIUS

Witness: Pistorius asked friend to 'take blame' for restaurant gunshot

PRETORIA - "Blade Runner" Oscar Pistorius asks friend to take blame for his accidentally discharging pistol under table of a posh Johannesburg restaurant in January 2013, month before he kills his girlfriend, his murder trial hears. (SAFRICA-PISTORIUS/ (UPDATE 1, PIX, TV), moved, by Siphiwe Sibeko, 610 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

View Comments (0)