Yahoo Fantasy Football:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Wednesday, Feb. 26

Reuters

Feb. 26 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Brugler: Bortles is No. 1

NFLDraftScout.com analyst Dane Brugler points to the Houston Texans drafting Central Florida quarterback Blake Bortles with the first overall pick in the 2014 NFL Draft in his post-combine mock draft. (FBN-DRAFT/, expect by 2130 GMT/4:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Dane Brugler, 1,100 words)

- -

Pro days critical for QBs

Louisville QB Teddy Bridgewater and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel watch position workouts in Indianapolis, adding pressure to their March pro days. (FBN-DRAFT/, expect by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Dane Brugler, 800 words)

- -

Eagles sign OT Peters to five-year deal

Two-time All-Pro Jason Peters, 32, signs a five-year contract through 2018 to remain with the Philadelphia Eagles. (FBN-EAGLES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Seahawks QB Wilson aspires to be team owner

After winning a Super Bowl in his second NFL season, Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson is already thinking about life after football. (FBN-SEAHAWKS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 325 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

*The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games. Key matchups highlighted below

- -

Warriors at Bulls

CHICAGO - David Lee could sit again for the Golden State Warriors at United Center against Joakim Noah, Carlos Boozer and the Chicago Bulls. (BKN-BULLS-WARRIORS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0100 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Nets at Blazers

PORTLAND - Point guard Damian Lillard and the Portland Trail Blazers continue without All-Star Lamarcus Aldridge and welcome the Brooklyn Nets. (BKN-BULLS-WARRIORS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0100 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Woodson says Felton to play

GREENBURGH, New York - New York Knicks coach Mike Woodson says he stands behind point guard Raymond Felton, who was arrested on gun possession charges on Tuesday, and that he would remain in the Knicks' lineup. (NBA-KNICKS/FELTON, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

- -

Collins' jersey a top-selling item

NEW YORK - Fans are snapping up the Brooklyn Nets No. 98 jersey, worn by Jason Collins, who made history over the weekend by becoming the first opening gay athlete to play in an NBA game. (NBA-NETS/Collins, expect by 1915 GMT/2:15 PM ET, 300 words)

- -

Veteran Gooden signs 10-day deal with Wizards

Well-traveled forward Drew Gooden inks a 10-year deal with the Washington Wizards. (BKN-WIZARDS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 150 words)

- -

NBA Wrap: Warriors hope to keep streak on track vs Bulls

The Golden State Warriors go for their fifth consecutive victory when they visit the Chicago Bulls, and the Philadelphia 76ers try to snap a 11-game losing streak against visiting Orlando in two of 10 games on the NBA hardwood. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

- - - -

COLLEGE BASKETBALL

California at Arizona (3)

TUCSON - Arizona (3) looks to steady itself entering the Pac-12 conference tournament to remain in the conversation for a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. (BKC-ARIZONA-CALIFORNIA-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0200 GMT/9 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

West Virginia at Iowa State (15)

AMES, Iowa - West Virginia dealt the Cyclones their most lopsided loss in three years in the first meeting between the teams this season. (BKC-IOWASTATE-WESTVIRGINIA-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0300 GMT/9 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Baylor at Texas (24)

AUSTIN, Texas - Texas slid from Big 12 title contender to middle of the pack with back-to-back losses and a third against state rival Baylor could pile onto those problems. (BKC-TEXAS-BAYLOR-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU, expect ASAP after the 0300 GMT/9 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Chad Conine, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Baseball's biggest bargain? Trout signs one-year deal

The Los Angeles Angels sign outfielder Mike Trout to a one-year, $1 million contract with a goal of reaching a long-term extension in the six-year, $160 million range before the start of the season. (BBO-ANGELS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

- -

Cardinals RHP Martinez blames hack on X-rated Twitter posts

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Carlos Martinez believes his Twitter account was hacked, leading to pornographic photos and links going viral this week. (BBO-CARDINALS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Orioles built to contend in 2014

Baltimore invested in short-term help with the mind that the window of opportunity for the Orioles to win might be short. (BBO-ORIOLES-NEWS/, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

Bruins at Sabres

BUFFALO - Boston has nine goals and a 2-1 advantage in the season series against the Buffalo Sabres but hit the ice for the first time since February 8. (HKN-SABRES-BRUINS/FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Blues at Canucks

VANCOUVER - The Vancouver Canucks can sweep the season series with the St. Louis Blues in the third meeting of the 2013-14 regular season. (HKN-CANUCKS-BLUES/FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0300 GMT/10:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

NHL Wrap: Blues meet Canucks looking to push past Blackhawks

The St. Louis Blues try to break a deadlock with the Chicago Blackhawks for the Central Division lead when the Blues face the Vancouver Canucks in one of four games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Woods to play second PGA event of the year

Tiger Woods heads the field as we preview this week's Honda Classic. (GOLF-PGA/ PREVIEW), expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, 350 words)

- - - -

JURISPRUDENCE

Hernandez involved in jail house scuffle

BOSTON - Former NFL tight end Aaron Hernandez, charged with shooting a friend to death last year, was involved in a Massachusetts jailhouse scuffle with another inmate that left neither man seriously injured, law enforcement officials say. (USA-PATRIOTS/HERNANDEZ, moved, 225 words)

- - - -

AUTO RACING

NASCAR Driver Capsules

Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads the pack as NASCAR's Sprint Cup shifts to Arizona. (CAR-SPRINT-DRIVERCAPSULES/, expect by 2115 GMT/4:15 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words per driver)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

After Sochi, gay sports event faces high hurdles in Russia

MOSCOW - Days after the closing of the Sochi Winter Olympics, a gay sports organization's plan to hold Russia's first open Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender athletic competition is under threat from bureaucratic barriers it says stems from discrimination. (RUSSIA-GAY/GAMES (TV, PIX), moved, by Ian Bateson, 400 words)

- -

Komissarova says she is paralyzed from waist down

Russian freestyle skier Maria Komissarova says she is paralyzed from the waist down after breaking her back in a training crash at the Sochi Winter Olympics. (OLYMPICS-KOMISSAROVA/, moved, 175 words)

See also: PARIS - The shin injury she suffered in training at the Sochi Olympics ends Tina Weirather's season. (ALPINE SKIING/WEIRATHER)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (0)