Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Wednesday, Oct. 2

Reuters

Oct. 2 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Wednesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Young and untested, Giants counting on new faces

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. - New faces are vying for fresh opportunities as the New York Giants attempt to climb out of an 0-4 hole to start the 2013 season. (FBN-GIANTS-NEWS/, expect by 2215 GMT/6:15 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Patti Traina, 400 words)

- -

New lair: Lions threaten Packers' 22-game home streak

GREEN BAY, Wis. - As the Green Bay Packers get back to playing after a Week 3 bye, they face a critical point already in the season. Their unmatched 22-game home winning streak against Detroit could be in jeopardy with the Lions, as they come into Lambeau Field on Sunday, in rare position to pull away from Green Bay in the NFC North standings. (FBN-PACKERS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 550 words)

- -

Game Scout: Bills at Browns

Previewing Thursday's NFL matchup between Buffalo and Cleveland, including game plan, matchup to watch and player spotlight. (FBN-BROWN-BILLS-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Derek Harper, 400 words)

- -

Steelers acquire OT Brown from Arizona

The Pittsburgh Steelers acquire left tackle Levi Brown from the Arizona Cardinals for a conditional draft pick, pending a physical. (FBN-STEELERS-CARDINALS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

See also: Ravens trade for LT Monroe (FBN-RAVENS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

- -

Book of revelations? Concussion cover-up alleged

Six days before the "Book of Denial" is released, excerpts of the contents alleging a systemic NFL cover-up of concussion and head injury correlations to playing football. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

COLLEGE FOOTBALL

Game Scout: UCLA at Utah

Previewing No. 12 UCLA's dangerous trip to Salt Lake City, where the Bruins last won in 1974. (FBC-UCLA-UTAH-NEWS/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Unbeaten Seminoles, Terrapins shapes up as shootout

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher wants to throw the stats out the window on the Seminoles' six straight wins against Maryland in advance of this week's mammoth ACC and Top 25 matchup between the two undefeated teams. (FBC-FLORIDASTATE-NEWS/, expect by 1845 GMT/2:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Danny Aller, 550 words)

- -

Terps must pass Tallahassee test to remain elite

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - To stay among the elite, Maryland must put on a good show against No. 8 Florida State Saturday in a noon shootout that will be ratcheted up in Tallahassee by national attention. (FBC-MARYLAND-NEWS/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Northwestern takes aim at Ohio State

EVANSTON, Ill. - ESPN's College Game Day overtakes Northwestern before the No. 16 Wildcats try to end the nation's longest winning streak with what would be a major upset over fourth-ranked Ohio State. (FBC-NORTHWESTERN-NEWS/, expect by 1945 GMT/3:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Texas drama continues with must-win game in Ames

AUSTIN, Texas - In a week that is already filled with drama and heartache for Texas, the Longhorns visit Iowa State Thursday night in a nationally-televised, prime time must-win game for coach Mack Brown. (FBC-IOWASTATE-NEWS/, expect by 4 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Presidents Cup

Couples, Price to announce fourball pairings

DUBLIN, Ohio - U.S. captain Fred Couples and his Internationals counterpart Nick Price announce their pairings for Thursday's opening fourball matches as the teams complete preparations at Muirfield Village Golf Club. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/ (PIX), expect first story by 1845 GMT/2:45 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes and Simon Evans, 500 words)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Rays at Indians

CLEVELAND - Terry Francona's Cleveland Indians are one win from the American League Division Series, where the Boston Red Sox await the winner of Wednesday's game. Tampa Bay tries to spoil the Tribe's 10-game winning streak to set up a series with their AL East rivals. (BBO-REDSOX-RAYS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after 0005 GMT/8:05 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

See also: Pregame wildcard notebook (BBO-INDIANS-RAYS-NOTES/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange)

- -

Jocketty: Baker back in '14

PITTSBURGH - General manager Walt Jocketty says manager Dusty Baker is coming back in 2014 despite another sour ending to a successful regular season. (BBO-REDS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by John Perrotto, 450 words)

- -

Pirates pushed by home crowd, head to St. Louis

PITTSBURGH - It has not always been the case, but the Pittsburgh Pirates are crediting their home crowd for playing a huge role in their wild-card game Tuesday. (BBO-PIRATES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Cardinals, Pirates renew rivalry in NLDS

ST. LOUIS - Adam Wainwright and Lance Lynn lead the St. Louis Cardinals' strong rotation into the NLDS against division rival Pittsburgh. (BBO-CARDINALS-STEELERS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 475 words)

- -

A-Rod begins appeal of suspension, says he was duped

Alex Rodriguez says he was tricked into taking an illegal substance and thought he purchased legal supplements from the Biogensis clinic and founder Anthony Bosch. Rodriguez and his attorneys presented the defense Wednesday before a three-person arbitration panel, hoping to overturn or reduce a 211-game suspension. (BBO-YANKEES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Tigers aim to claw up one more rung this year

The Detroit Tigers have a trio of pitching aces and the best hitter on the planet in their quest to go one notch better than their 2012 season and claim the World Series crown. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/TIGERS (FEATURE), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 600 words)

- -

Braves happy entering playoffs under the radar

For the first time in nearly a decade, the Atlanta Braves have won the National League East, raising fresh hopes they can rekindle their glory days and make a charge at winning the World Series. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/BRAVES (FEATURE), expect by 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Julian Linden, 600 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

The Sports Xchange cover every NHL game; below are the highlighted games

- -

Penguins' Vokoun to miss 3-6 months

Goaltender Tomas Vokoun will miss 3-6 months, Pittsburgh Penguins general manager Ray Shero says. Vokoun required surgery to dissolve a blood clot. (HKN-PENGUINS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 250 words)

- -

Toronto at Philadelphia

PHILADELPHIA - The Philadelphia Flyers open the season with a new-look lineup against the Toronto Maple Leafs. (HKN-FLYERS-MAPLELEAFS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Sean Farrell, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Anaheim at Colorado

DENVER - No. 1 overall pick Nathan MacKinnon debuts for the Colorado Avalanche against the Anaheim Ducks. (HKN-AVALANCHE-DUCKS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after 0130 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Mike Kelly, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Sabres open their season at the Joe vs. Red Wings

Highlights of Wednesday's regular season National Hockey League games. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

SKIING

Vonn's recovery ahead of schedule

PARK CITY, Utah - American Olympic champion Lindsey Vonn says her recovery from a knee injury is ahead of schedule and that she could be ready to for the start of the alpine World Cup ski season later this month in Soelden. (OLYMPICS-VONN/COMEBACK, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 450 words)

- - - -

JURISPRUDENCE

Sandusky denied new trial on child sex abuse charges

PHILADELPHIA - Former Penn State assistant football coach Jerry Sandusky, convicted of sexually molesting boys for more than a decade, loses his bid for a new trial. (CRIME/SANDUSKY, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Instantly join a new league.

League type:
Free Yahoo League
League size:
10 players
Draft time:
Aug 29 9:00 am
View Comments (0)