Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Tuesday, Feb. 25


Feb. 25 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Tuesday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -


CBs close Scouting Combine with a blur

Oklahoma State cornerback Justin Gilbert (4.37 40) puts an exclamation point on 2014 NFL Scouting Combine workouts, but he wasn't alone. (FBN-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Jeff Reynolds, 900 words)

- -

Combine Takeaways

As a considerable piece of prospect evaluation, the 2014 NFL Scouting Combine produces many lasting images. (FBN-DRAFT/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Rob Rang, 1,000 words)

- -

Golfer takes public swipe at Sam

Steve Elkington goes on a no-holds-barred offensive discussing ESPN's coverage of Missouri defensive end Michael Sam, calling the coverage "offensive" before saying, "Michael Sam is leading the handbag throw at NFL combine." (FBN-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Panthers OT Gross to retire

Left tackle Jordan Gross will announce his retirement from the NFL after the first-round pick missed just nine games in 11 seasons. (FBN-PANTHERS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -


*The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games. Key matchups highlighted below

- -

Lakers at Pacers

INDIANAPOLIS - Paul George and the Indiana Pacers introduce new acquisitions Evan Turner and Lavoy Allen tonight against the Los Angeles Lakers. (BKN-LAKERS-PACERS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Paul Bowker, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Rockets at Kings

SACRAMENTO - The streaking Houston Rockets shoot for their 10th win in the past 11 games in a season series they trail 1-2 this season against the Sacramento Kings. (BKN-KINGS-ROCKETS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0300 GMT/10 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

NBA Wrap: Rockets face Kings, seek to gain on Spurs

The Houston Rockets visit the Sacramento Kings with a chance to pull closer to Southwest Division leader the San Antonio Spurs in one of seven games on the NBA schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -


Knicks point guard Felton arrested

NEW YORK - New York Knicks point guard Raymond Felton faces three counts of criminal possession of a weapon after his arrest early today in Manhattan. (USA-ARREST/NBA-FELTON, moved; will be led by 2030 GMT/3:30 PM ET, by Jonathan Allen, 300 words)

- - - -


Florida (1) at Vanderbilt

NASHVILLE - Florida, newly anointed the No. 1 team in the nation, visits scrappy Vanderbilt with a perfect SEC record (14-0) intact. (BKC-VANDERBILT-FLORIDA-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after 7 p.m. ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Wichita State (2) at Bradley

PEORIA, Ill. - Wichita State lands in Central Illinois with a shot at joining some elite historical company by posting a 30-0 start to the 2013-14 season. (BKC-BRADLEY-WICHITASTATE-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU, expect ASAP after the 0200 GMT/9 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by James Dent, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- -

Virginia Tech at Duke (6)

DURHAM, N.C. - Can Duke (22-6) avoid a major letdown against lowly Virginia Tech (9-17, 2-12 ACC) coming off of last week's double-dip against North Carolina and Syracuse? (BKC-DUKE-VIRGINIATECH-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 800-word writethru)

- - - -


Opening Day holiday?

There's a campaign afoot that includes an online petition posted at to make baseball's Opening Day a national holiday. (BBO-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Braves' rotation might be minus Minor

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. - The Atlanta Braves might open the season without 13-game winner Mike Minor in their starting rotation. (BBO-BRAVES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Angels RHP Richards settles into rotation

TEMPE, Ariz. - Garrett Richards is on the right side of the lockerroom at Tempe Diablo Stadium, the Angels' spring training home. (BBO-ANGELS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Burnett to face former team in Phillies debut

A.J. Burnett, 37, will face the Pittsburgh Pirates on Sunday in his spring training debut start for the Philadelphia Phillies. (BBO-PHILLIES-NEWS/, expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -


Carolina at Buffalo

BUFFALO - The NHL returns from the Olympic break with one game on the schedule. (HKN-SABRES-HURRICANES-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0000 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Olympians Ovechkin and Backstrom return to Capitals

ARLINGTON, Virginia - Alex Ovechkin and Nicklas Backstrom return to the Washington Capitals determined to put their bitter Olympic experiences behind them. (NHL-CAPITALS/OVECHKIN, expect by 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, by Steve Ginsburg, 450 words)

- -

Olympics injury sidelines Penguins' Martin

The Pittsburgh Penguins will be without Paul Martin for four to six weeks after the defenseman suffered a broken hand during the Olympics in Sochi, Russia. (HKN-PENGUINS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -


Levet: Swashbuckling Dubuisson aiming to be No. 1

LONDON - Swashbuckling young French musketeer Victor Dubuisson has the weapons to win majors and become the world's number one golfer, according to fellow countryman and former Ryder Cup player Thomas Levet. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/DUBUISSON (INTERVIEW), moved, by Tony Jimenez, 700 words)

- - - -


Adidas pulls sexualized World Cup T-shirts

BRASILIA - Adidas accedes to a request from Brazil's tourism board, which says the sporting goods maker should stop selling two T-shirts it marketed ahead of this year's World Cup because they encourage sexual tourism. (WORLDCUP-BRAZIL/SHIRTS (UPDATE 1), moved, 325 words)

- - - -


Ecstatic Earnhardt feels vindicated by Daytona triumph

Dale Earnhardt Jr., NASCAR's most popular driver, says he feels vindicated and answered critics who doubted him with his Daytona 500 triumph on Sunday. (MOTORRACING-DAYTONA/EARNHARDT, expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- -

Dale Jr. not resting on Daytona victory

Dale Earnhardt Jr. is looking for another win in Arizona after an emotional victory lap at Daytona. (CAR-SPRINT-NEWS/, expect by 2230 GMT/5:30 PM ET, NASCAR wire service special to The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL Million Dollar Baller 53296/113636 $10 $1000000 Tomorrow 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $50K Tournament [$5K to 1st] 41246/56818 $1 $50000 Tomorrow 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $1 Single Entry 50/50 [Top 50% Win] 3687/10000 $1 $9000 Tomorrow 1:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)