What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Thursday, April 10

Reuters

April 10 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Thursday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

GOLF

The Masters (to April 13)

Scott, Mickelson and McIlroy set to tee off in 78th Masters

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Eyes of golfing world are firmly fixed on Augusta National, where defending champion Adam Scott, three-time winner Phil Mickelson and former world No. 1 Rory McIlroy launch their title bids. Ninety-seven players compete in first of year's four majors. (GOLF-MASTERS/ (PIX), first story has moved; by Mark Lamport-Stokes, Tony Jimenez, Julian Linden and Larry Fine, 500 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Report: 49ers QB Kaepernick, others under investigation

San Francisco 49ers say they seek information about alleged incident involving Colin Kaepernick in which Sacramento Bee reports other players are involved and woman claims she is sexually assaulted. (FBN-49ers-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words, will be led)

- -

Browns plan to keep C Mack

Cleveland Browns center Alex Mack might have an offer sheet from Jacksonville Jaguars, but Cleveland plans to match that deal "in a second," according to owner Jimmy Haslam. (FBN-BROWNS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Draft: LB diversity a key

NFLDraftScout.com publisher Frank Cooney evaluates top linebackers in 2014 draft, from Buffalo pass rusher Khalil Mack to Alabama inside linebacker C.J. Mosley and personal favorite from Stanford. (FBN-DRAFT, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Frank Cooney, 2,300 words)

- -

Dolphins C Pouncey eyeing contract

Miami Dolphins center Mike Pouncey could be angling for new long-term deal. (FBN-DOLPHINS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 230 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

Spurs at Mavericks

DALLAS - Possible first-round playoff opponents meet for fourth time this season as Dallas Mavericks look to prevent Spurs four-game sweep and hold off Memphis Grizzlies for No. 8 seed in West. (BKN-MAVERICKS-SPURS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 0000 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

Nuggets at Warriors

OAKLAND, Calif. - First of two meetings in final week of regular season between Golden State and Denver. (BKN-WARRIORS-NUGGETS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 0200 GMT/10 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

NBA Wrap: Warriors and Mavs chasing postseason berths

Golden State Warriors seek to keep pace for sixth playoff spot in West when they are home to Denver Nuggets, and conference-leading San Antonio Spurs travel to Dallas Mavericks, who challenge Warriors for sixth place in only games on NBA schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

The full NBA schedule:

San Antonio at Dallas, 0000 GMT/8 PM ET

Denver at Golden State, 0230 GMT/10:30 PM ET

- - - -

COLLEGE BASKETBALL

Michigan's Stauskas weighs stay or go

Michigan guard Nik Stauskas, Big Ten player of year, denies reports that he plans to enter NBA draft. (BKC-MICHIGAN-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

- -

Calipari: NCAA crumbling like Soviet Union

Kentucky head coach John Calipari says in upcoming book that future of the NCAA is bleak unless it embraces radical reform. (BKC-KENTUCKY-NEWS, expect by 3 p.m. ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Aging Jeter center of Yanks deteriorating defense

NEW YORK - Celebrating Derek Jeter is norm in his swan song, but New York Yankees might be forced to move their captain from shortstop to make 2014 a winning good-bye. (BBO-COLUMN, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by John Perrotto, 950 words)

- -

In San Francisco, it has been solid Goldschmidt

SAN FRANCISCO - If Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt accepts invitation to participate in the Home Run Derby at All-Star Game this season, he would be wise to bring San Francisco Giants right-hander Tim Lincecum along as his personal pitcher. (BBO-DIAMONDBACKS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, by David Del Grande, 350 words)

- -

Castro digging in for Cubs

CHICAGO - Starlin Castro's bat has come to life. Whether batting sixth or second or somewhere in between, Chicago Cubs shortstop has become quite productive at plate as of late. (BBO-CUBS-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Jack McCarthy, 300 words)

- -

White Sox gauging injury toll

DENVER - Two starters left Wednesday's demoralizing loss to Colorado Rockies with injuries, but Chicago White Sox hope that won't become a theme. (BBO-WHITESOX-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Red Sox at Yankees

NEW YORK - Longtime rivals with matching 4-5 records to start season clash at Yankee Stadium in first of a four-game series. (BBO-YANKEES-REDSOX-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 2305 GMT/7:05 PM ET start, The Sports Xchange, by Larry Fleisher, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

Marlins at Nationals

WASHINGTON - Steven Strasburg and Washington Nationals seek three-game sweep of Miami Marlins. (BBO-NATIONALS-MARLINS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 2010 GMT/4:10 PM ET start, The Sports Xchange, by David Driver, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

Brewers at Phillies

PHILADELPHIA - No place like road? That's case for Milwaukee Brewers, who are off to surprising start thanks to their perfect record away from Miller Park. Philadelphia Phillies try to prevent three-game sweep by right-hander Marco Estrada and Milwaukee. (BBO-PHILLIES-BREWERS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 2305 GMT/7:05 PM ET start, The Sports Xchange, by Gordon Jones, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

Diamondbacks at Giants

SAN FRANCISCO - Pitching-poor Arizona hopes for a boost from Randall Delgado, who has ERA of 0.96 against San Francisco Giants. (BBO-GIANTS-DIAMONDBACKS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 0210 GMT/10:10 PM ET start, The Sports Xchange, by David Del Grande, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

MLB Wrap: Red Sox and Yankees renew rivalry in New York

Boston Red Sox and New York Yankees renew their heated rivalry for first time in 2014 with Clay Buchholz pitching for Boston and Michael Pineda for host Yankees in one of nine games on schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- -

The full MLB schedule:

- -

American League:

Oakland at Minnesota, 1710 GMT/1:10 PM ET

Boston at New York Yankees, 2305 GMT/7:05 PM ET

Houston at Toronto, 2307 GMT/7:07 PM ET

Cleveland at Chicago White Sox, 0010 GMT/8:10 PM ET

- -

National League:

Pittsburgh at Chicago Cubs, 1820 GMT/2:20 PM ET

Miami at Washington, 2005 GMT/4:05 PM ET

Milwaukee at Philadelphia, 2305 GMT/7:05 PM ET

New York Mets at Atlanta, 2310 GMT/7:10 PM ET

Arizona at San Francisco, 0215 GMT/10:15 PM ET

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

Coyotes at Predators

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Phoenix enters final week of season in fight for final wild-card spot in the West. Erasing two-point deficit will be easier if Coyotes can defeat the Predators for second time this season. (HKN-PREDATORS-COYOTES-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 0000 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by James Dent, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

Avalanche at Canucks

VANCOUVER, British Columbia - With walls coming down in Vancouver and name plates changing all around Canucks' facility, Colorado Avalanche enter looking to win West and Central Division titles. (HKN-CANUCKS-AVALANCHE-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU, expect after 0200 GMT/10 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lead, 700-word write-through)

- -

NHL Wrap: Coyotes bid to end skid in road game with Predators

Phoenix Coyotes, who have lost five in a row, try to stay in hunt for Western Conference wildcard playoff spot when they visit Nashville Predators in one of 11 games on schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 900 words)

- -

The full NHL schedule:

Buffalo at the New York Rangers, 2300 GMT/7 PM ET

Washington at Carolina, 2300 GMT/7 PM ET

New York Islanders at Montreal, 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET

New Jersey at Ottawa, 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET

Philadelphia at Tampa Bay, 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET

Toronto at Florida, 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET

Phoenix at Nashville, 0000 GMT/8 PM ET

St. Louis at Minnesota, 0000 GMT/8 PM ET

Boston at Winnipeg, 0000 GMT/8 PM ET

Los Angeles at Edmonton, 0130 GMT/9:30 PM ET

Colorado at Vancouver, 0200 GMT/10 PM ET

- - - -

COLLEGE HOCKEY

College hockey's Frozen Four

Boston College, Minnesota, Union and North Dakota vie for chance to play for NCAA ice hockey national championship in Philadelphia. (MSC-NEWS, expect after each game - 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300-word recaps)

- - - -

AUTO RACING

IndyCar: Past, future in passing lane at Long Beach

There are many turns in store at 2014 Grand Prix of Long Beach, where nearly 2,000-mile ride could present intersection of past and future of IndyCar. (CAR-INDY-NEWS, moved, The Sports Xchange, 440 words)

- - - -

OSCAR PISTORIUS

Prosecutor to Pistorius: 'Your version is a lie'

PRETORIA - South African prosecutor accuses Oscar Pistorius of lying and altering his story when Olympic and Paralympic athlete describes night he shot dead his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp on Valentine's Day last year. (US-SAFRICA-PISTORIUS/ (PIX), moved, by Ed Cropley, 600 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

IOC tightens control over Rio 2016 Games preparations

International Olympic Committee announces series of measures including stronger presence in Rio de Janeiro to monitor progress and speed lagging preparations for 2016 Olympics. (OLYMPICS-RIO/, moved, by Karolos Grohmann, 600 words)

- -

Lviv 2022 to meet IOC on Ukraine bid's future

Lviv 2022 Winter Olympics bid team will meet International Olympic Committee "as soon as possible" to decide whether troubled Ukrainian candidacy can meet its commitments as country faces turmoil. (OLYMPICS-LVIV/ (UPDATE 1), moved, by Karolos Grohmann, 425 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

View Comments (0)