WATCH NOW:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Monday, March 24

Reuters

March 24 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Monday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Eagles consider action with Jackson

Wide receiver DeSean Jackson remained a hot topic as owners and team personnel converged on Orlando for the annual NFL owner's meetings. (FBN-EAGLES-NEWS/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

--

Another round: NFL's first 64 draft picks projected

Houston enters the final leg of major quarterback pro days with a decision to make. Dane Brugler projects UCF's Blake Bortles to land with the Texans while the Jacksonville Jaguars wait for round two to address the position. (FBN-DRAFT/, expect by 1945 GMT/3:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Dane Brugler, 2,500 words)

--

Owner's meetings underway

The latest from NFL owner's meetings in Orlando, Fla. (FBN-NEWS/, expect by 2245 GMT/6:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

--

Tracking free agents movers

Tracking the bargain shoppers and under-the-radar additions in the second week of NFL free agency. (FBN-NEWS/, separates as needed, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

*The Sports Xchange covers all NBA games. Key matchups highlighted below

- -

Blazers at Heat

MIAMI - Turmoil in Miami? With a date with the Indiana Pacers to follow Monday's game, coach Erik Spoelstra said the Heat locker room is unhappy because of the recent slide in which Miami lost seven of 11 games, while the Portland Trail Blazers are 3-6 in their past nine. (BKN-BLAZERS-HEAT-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Walter Villa, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

--

76ers at Spurs

SAN ANTONIO - Philadelphia 76ers head coach Brett Brown returns home for a reminder of how the other half lives. San Antonio can inch closer to the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference postseason and push Brown, a longtime assistant to Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich, and the 76ers within one game of the NBA record for consecutive losses. (BKN-SPURS-76ERS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Mark Rosner, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

--

Nuggets at Thunder

OKLAHOMA CITY - Russell Westbrook's availability is uncertain due to a right knee injury as the Oklahoma City Thunder and league scoring leader Kevin Durant goes for a third win in four games this season against the Denver Nuggets. (BKN-THUNDER-NUGGETS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after 0000 GMT/8 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

NBA Wrap: Spurs look to hand 76ers 25th consecutive loss

The Philadelphia 76ers, who have lost 24 consecutive games, can move within one game of tying the NBA's all-time losing streak when they visit the San Antonio Spurs, winners of 13 straight, in one of 10 games on the NBA schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 950 words)

- - - -

COLLEGE BASKETBALL

NCAA Tournament: Kentucky, Louisville cross border for regional showdown

Of the headline matchups in the Sweet 16, Kentucky-Louisville is as intriguing as it gets. (BKC-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Frustrated Woods says 'too soon' to make call on Masters

Tiger Woods is still no closer to knowing whether he will be able to play in next month's Masters as he struggles with back pain. (GOLF-MASTERS/WOODS (PIX), moved, 325 words)

- -

Spieth back in Texas as an established star

Jordan Spieth is gearing up for his first Masters in two weeks, but before he goes to Augusta National, he is headed back home to Texas. (GLF-INSIDETHEROPES/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Tom Lamarre, 1,200 words)

--

LPGA players concerned about Open conditions

LPGA players are excited that the U.S. Women's Open is being played at Pinehurst No. 2 in June, but they have their concerns about playing a week after the men contest the U.S. Open on the same course. (GLF-NOTEBOOK/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Tom Lamarre, 1,200 words)

--

Golf glance

The week ahead in professional golf with TV listings and review of last year's results. (GLF-SCHEDULE/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by Tom Lamarre, 1,200 words)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Season Preview: Houston Astros

KISSIMME, Fla. - Analysis of the Houston Astros strengths and weaknesses entering the season, key notes and complete roster breakdown. (BBO-ASTROS-NEWS/, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

--

Season Preview: Los Angeles Angels

Analysis of the Los Angeles Angels strengths and weaknesses entering the season, key notes and complete roster breakdown. (BBO-ANGELS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

--

Season Preview: Seattle Mariners

Analysis of the Seattle Mariners strengths and weaknesses entering the season, key notes and complete roster breakdown. (BBO-MARINERS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

--

Season Preview: Oakland Athletics

Analysis of the Oakland Athletics strengths and weaknesses entering the season, key notes and complete roster breakdown. (BBO-ATHLETICS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

--

Season Preview: Texas Rangers

Analysis of the Texas Rangers strengths and weaknesses entering the season, key notes and complete roster breakdown. (BBO-RANGERS-NEWS/, expect by 0130 GMT/9:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

--

White Sox sign LHP Quintana to five-year deal

Chicago White Sox left-handed starter Jose Quintana signed a five-year contract Monday. (BBO-WHITESOX-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

*The Sports Xchange covers all NHL games. Key matchups highlighted below

- -

Kings at Flyers

PHILADELPHIA - Familiar faces Jeff Carter and Mike Richards return to Wells Fargo Center as visitors and the Los Angeles Kings shoot to even the season series with the Philadelphia Flyers at one game apiece. (HKN-FLYERS-KINGS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after 2300 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

--

Canadiens at Bruins

BOSTON - The Bruins can grab lucky No. 13, a winning streak that would give Boston 50 victories this season. Montreal holds a 2-1 edge in the season series but the Canadiens will go with backup Pierre Budaj following Sunday's off day. (HKN-BRUINS-CANADIENS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect ASAP after 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

NHL Wrap: Bruins go for lucky 13th against Canadiens

The Boston Bruins, the domineering leader of the Eastern Conference, go for their 13th consecutive win when they meet the Montreal Canadiens in Boston in one of six games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

Sony Open, Miami, Florida

Nadal and Serena headline start of week two at Sony

MIAMI - The world's top-ranked players, Rafa Nadal and Serena Williams, take center stage at Crandon Park as the Sony Open heads into its second week. Australian Open champion Stan Wawrinka and Maria Sharapova are also to play on the stadium court. (TENNIS-MIAMI/ (PIX), expect lead by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

Note: Sidebars will move as warranted

- - - -

SOCCER

Beckham group releases plans for downtown stadium

MIAMI - A group led by David Beckham releases plans for a controversial downtown soccer stadium, two months after the retired English and LA Galaxy star announced he would launch a Miami club in MLS. (BECKHAM-MIAMI/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Zachary Fagenson, 500 words)

- - - -

OSCAR PISTORIUS

'I'm scared of you,' Steenkamp told Pistorius in text message

PRETORIA - Oscar Pistorius' girlfriend, Reeva Steenkamp, admits to being scared of the South African track star in a text message sent less than three weeks before he shot her dead, a police expert tells his murder trial. (US-SAFRICA-PISTORIUS/ (PIX), moved; will be led, by Vanessa Romeo, 675 words)

- - - -

BOSTON MARATHON

Boston Marathon bombing response a world model, governor says

BOSTON - Boston's handling of the bombing attack on its marathon in April has become a model for cities around the world on how to respond to tragedy, Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick says, as the city makes its final preparations for this year's race. (USA-EXPLOSION/BOSTON-GOVERNOR, moved, 350 words)

- - - -

AUTOS

Racing notebook

News and notes looking back at the Auto Club 400 and forward at the weekend ahead. (CAR-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, NASCAR wire service special to The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (0)