What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Monday, Sept. 30

Reuters

Sept. 30 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Monday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Dolphins at Saints

NEW ORLEANS - Undefeated Miami travels to the Big Easy to face the undefeated New Orleans Saints, who are clicking on both sides of the ball. Who'll leave the Superdome with a 4-0 record? (FBN-SAINTS-DOLPHINS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect first copy ASAP after 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Peter Finney, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Patriots down another star

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - With All-Pro tight end Rob Gronkowski and wide receiver Danny Amendola sitting out with injuries, the New England Patriots lost the 350-pound heart of their defense, Vince Wilfork. (FBN-PATRIOTS-NEWS/, moved; will be led, The Sports Xchange, 275 words)

- -

Texans' Schaub under fire

HOUSTON - For the third game in a row, Houston Texans quarterback Matt Schaub threw a touchdown to the opposing defense. Can he withstand the heat in Houston? (FBN-TEXANS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Locker key, but Titans confident without QB

NASHVILLE - Jake Locker piloted the Tennessee Titans to an unexpected 3-1 start. A hip injury knocked him out of action Sunday, placing the offense in the hands of journeyman Ryan Fitzpatrick. (FBN-TITANS-NEWS/, moved; expect update by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Packers bought time with bye week

GREEN BAY - The injury list is shrinking for the Green Bay Packers upon returning from a welcomed bye week. (FBN-PACKERS-NEWS/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Rays at Rangers

ARLINGTON, Texas - A 163rd game to decide the second American League wild-card spot pits the Tampa Bay Rays and Texas Rangers. Rookie Martin Perez tangles with 2012 AL Cy Young winner David Price, who is a dreadful 1-4 with a 5.98 ERA in his career against the Rangers. (BBO-RANGERS-RAYS-FIRSTLEDE-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect first copy ASAP after 0005 GMT/8:05 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Art Garcia, 400-word first lede, 700-word write-thru)

See also: ARLINGTON, Texas - Pregame notebook from the Ballpark in Arlington. (BBO-RANGERS-RAYS-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Art Garcia, 350 words)

- -

MLB's second season set to start with added wild card bonus

The Boston Red Sox and St. Louis Cardinals are top seeds in baseball's postseason, which features a bonus duel with the Tampa Bay Rays and Texas Rangers playing a tiebreaker game to determine the second wild card berth. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 600 words)

Note: The package will also include brief profiles of the playoff teams and a playoff schedule.

- -

Pirates pumped for playoff return to PNC

PITTSBURGH - The Pittsburgh Pirates host the Cincinnati Reds tomorrow night in the National League wild card game. It marks the Bucs' first playoff game since a heartbreaking Game 7 loss in 1992 NLCS to Atlanta. (BBO-PIRATES-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, by John Perrotto, 475 words)

- -

Reds leave disappointment at home, head to Pittsburgh

PITTSBURGH - The Cincinnati Reds had a chance to secure home field for the National League Wild Card game, but they failed miserably. They lost the first two games of the season-ending series with Pittsburgh, ensuring a trip to PNC Park. (BBO-REDS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

MVPs? TSX writers name every team's most valuable

The Sports Xchange identifies and analyzes the Most Valuable Player for all 30 teams based on voting from team correspondents. (BBO-NEWS/, expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 1,500 words)

- -

Cubs: Sayonara Sveum

Manager Dale Sveum is fired after two seasons as manager of the Chicago Cubs. (BBO-CUBS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

See also: Recapping Monday's managerial moves (BBO-METS-TWINS-NEWS/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

MLB notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BBO-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

Heat check: Champs meet media

Two-time defending champion Miami extends coach Erik Spoelstra's contract to open training camp, the first time LeBron James & Co. speaks to the media since claiming another Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy. (BKN-HEAT-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Kings, Cousins make deal official

Sacramento Kings center DeMarcus Cousins officially signs his four-year contract with the team. (BKN-KINGS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words).

- -

Toronto selected as host of 2016 All-Star Game

TORONTO - Toronto is selected as the host of the National Basketball Association's 2016 All-Star Game, marking the first time the showcase event will be held outside of the United States. (NBA-TORONTO/, moved, 250 words)

- -

Knicks pick up Woodson option; Stoudemire has knee procedure

New York Knicks coach Mike Woodson's contract option for 2014-15 is picked up, which new GM Steve Mills called "an easy decision." In other news, forward Amar'e Stoudemire undergoes an offseason knee procedure. (BKN-KNICKS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

- - - -

JURISPRUDENCE

Mavs' Cuban goes on trial

DALLAS - Mark Cuban, the billionaire owner of the Dallas Mavericks, goes on trial to face civil charges that he committed insider trading in shares of a little-known internet search company, Mamma.com, nearly a decade ago. (SEC-CUBAN/, has moved; expect (UPDATE 1) by 4 p.m. ET, by Jana J. Pruet, 500 words)

- -

Hernandez's cousin ordered held

BOSTON - The cousin of Aaron Hernandez, the ex-NFL star who is accused of murdering semi-pro football player Odin Lloyd, is ordered held without bail on charges that she planned to help cover up the killing. (PATRIOTS/HERNANDEZ, moved, 350 words)

- - - -

SAILING

Oracle sailors learned flying for America's Cup comeback

SAN FRANCISCO - The come-from-behind victory of Larry Ellison's America's Cup team is a tale of learning how to fly a boat - and pushing the equipment, the rules and the crew to the very limit in the process. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/BOAT (PIX), moved, by Alden Bentley, 1,500 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Munich decides to bid for 2022 Winter Olympics

BERLIN - Bavarian capital Munich, which hosted the 1972 Summer Olympics, will make a bid to stage the Winter Games half a century later in 2022. (OLYMPICS-MUNICH/2022, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

View Comments (0)