Breaking news:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Friday, Sept. 6

Reuters

Sept. 6 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Friday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

TENNIS

U.S. Open (to Sept 9)

Serena aiming for crack at fifth U.S. Open crown

NEW YORK - Defending champion Serena Williams hopes to earn a chance at winning her fifth U.S. Open crown when she plays China's Li Na in the semi-finals of the year's final major. They take the court at Arthur Ashe Stadium following the semi-final contest between Victoria Azarenka and Flavia Pennetta. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Larry Fine, Simon Evans and Will Swanton, 700 words)

Note: There will be separates on each of the semi-final matches and a sidebar on the losing player

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Past principle holds key to slowing en vogue offense

Confronted with the latest offense-of-the-future, defensive minds around the league would be wise to tune into the basic precepts from past pioneers. (FBN-COLUMN/, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Frank Cooney, 1,000 words)

- -

Report cards: Grading the Broncos, Ravens

Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos put up 49 points and are 1-0, but the lack of a running game might be one cause for concern going forward. (FBN-BRONCOS-RAVENS-NEWS/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

See also: What we Learned Thursday (FBN-BRONCOS-RAVENS/, expect by 1815 GMT/2:15 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- -

Week 1 matchups, analysis

Detailed breakdown of all Week 1 games, including the return of Robert Griffin III on "Monday Night Football" the latest installment of Cowboys-Giants - New York has never lost in the Cowboys' new stadium - and the battle of NFC heavyweights Green Bay and San Francisco.

All previews include these sections: Gameplan, Keys to the Game, Matchup to Watch, Spotlight player, Fast facts and Who Wins. (FBN-PACKERS-49ERS-NEWS/, expect by 1820 GMT/2:20 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 400 words per game).

Slug convention is specific to matchup, for example, FBN-COWBOYS-GIANTS-NEWS/, for Dallas Cowboys-New York Giants)

- -

AFC roster analysis

Breaking down every roster, unit-by-unit, for the 14 AFC teams yet to play in Week 1. (FBN-DOLPHINS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 900 words) Slug convention is specific to 16 AFC teams, for example, FBN-DOLPHINS-NEWS/, for Miami Dolphins roster analysis.

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

The Sports Xchange covers all MLB games, top matchups highlighted below

- -

Deadened Red: Votto baffled by bad bat

CINCINNATI - Cincinnati Reds first baseman Joey Votto is perplexed by the worst slump of his career. (BBO-REDS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 325 words)

- -

Angels' Williams back in a groove

LOS ANGELES - Los Angeles Angels starter Jerome Williams seems to be back on top of his game. (BBO-ANGELS-NEWS/, moved, the Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Catching up: Athletics have options behind plate

OAKLAND - The Oakland A's have options now that all three catchers are healthy. (BBO-ATHLETICS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

Western worry: A's have Darvish's number

LOS ANGELES - Rangers ace Yu Darvish still has not figured out the Oakland A's, the team that will be Texas' primary competition in the pennant push. (BBO-RANGERS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Red Sox at Yankees

NEW YORK - The Boston Red Sox scored a win in a dramatic series opener. Left-handers Felix Doubront and Andy Pettitte square off tonight in the second game of the rivalry series. (BBO-YANKEES-REDSOX-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Larry Fleisher, 700 words)

- -

Dodgers at Reds

CINCINNATI - Los Angeles and Cincinnati, likely National League playoff teams, square off at Great American Ballpark. (BBO-REDS-DODGERS-WRITETHRU/ (PIX), expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, by Jeff Wallner, 700 words)

- -

Around the Horn highlights

The host New York Yankees look to claw back into the American League East race when they play the second of a four-game series against the rival and division-leading Boston Red Sox in one of 15 games on the major league schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- -

MLB notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (BBO-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Americans look to move closer to Rio

Costa Rica hosts the United States in the clash of the top two teams in CONCACAF qualifying for next year's World Cup finals in Brazil. Mexico with just one win so far, has a tough test at home to Honduras while Panama aims to keep its impressive bid going against Jamaica. (SOCCER-WORLD/CONCACAF (PIX), expect by 0400 GMT/12 AM ET, by Simon Evans, 500 words)

- - - -

AUTO RACING

Sprint Cup qualifying

RICHMOND - With the Chase on deck, pole position will be vital. Coverage of Friday night Sprint Cup qualifying. (CAR-SPRINT/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, NASCAR wire service distributed by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Nationwide coverage

RICHMOND - Full coverage of the 250-lap Nationwide night race. (CAR-NATIONWIDE/, expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, NASCAR wire service distributed by The Sports Xchange, flash lede/writethru, 200/500 words)

- -

Weekend notebook

RICHMOND - The Nascar regular season wraps up under the lights in Richmond this weekend. (CAR-SPRINT/, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, NASCAR wire service distributed by The Sports Xchange, 475 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Wrestling plays down reprimand, adds Hollywood glitz

BUENOS AIRES - Wrestling officials play down an official reprimand and add some Hollywood glitz to their campaign to get the sport back into the 2020 Olympics with support from American actor William Baldwin. (OLYMPICS-WRESTLING/REPRIMAND (UPDATE 1), moved, 425 words)

- - - -

TRACK AND FIELD

Gatlin takes on Bolt in Diamond League finale

BRUSSELS - World and Olympic champion Usain Bolt faces five other 100 meters finalists from this year's world championships in Moscow, including American runner-up Justin Gatlin, as the Diamond League reaches a climax. (ATHLETICS-DIAMOND/ (PIX), by Phil Blenkinsop, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 600 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Outside the Lines

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

View Comments (0)