Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters U.S. Sports Schedule at 2 PM EDT on Friday, Oct. 4

Reuters

Oct. 4 (Reuters) - Reuters U.S. sports schedule at 2 PM ET on Friday:

- - - -

The duty editor is Steve Ginsburg, 202-898-8427

- - - -

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

Pittsburgh at St. Louis

ST. LOUIS - Right-hander Lance Lynn and the St. Louis Cardinals can build a 2-0 series lead over the Pittsburgh Pirates in an afternoon game in the NLDS. (BBO-CARDINALS-PIRATES-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after 1707 GMT/1:07 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by James Dent, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Tampa Bay at Boston

BOSTON - The Tampa Bay Rays and Boston Red Sox meet for the 20th time this season and familiar arms - left-handers Matt Moore of Tampa and Jon Lester of Boston - are tasked with setting the tone in the ALDS at Fenway Park. (BBO-RAYS-REDSOX-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 1907 GMT/3:07 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Mike Shalin, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Dodgers at Braves

ATLANTA - Los Angeles starts Zack Greinke in pursuit of a 2-0 series lead over the Atlanta Braves at Turner Field. (BBO-BRAVES-DODGERS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 2207 GMT/6:07 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Guy Curtright, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Detroit at Oakland

OAKLAND - The Oakland Athletics ran away with the American League West and the Detroit Tigers captured the American League Central for the third straight season. Ageless Oakland right-hander Bartolo Colon takes the ball against 20-win Tigers starter Max Scherzer in Game 1 of the ALDS at o.Co Coliseum. (BBO-ATHLETICS-TIGERS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 0137 GMT/9:37 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, by Eric Gilmore, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Reds fire Dusty Baker after another postseason loss

The Cincinnati Reds part ways with manager Dusty Baker with one year left on his deal three days after GM Walt Jocketty said he would return in 2014. (BBO-REDS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- -

A-Rod Sues Major League Baseball, Selig

NEW YORK - New York Yankees slugger Alex Rodriguez sues Major League Baseball and Commissioner Bud Selig, accusing them of improperly gathering evidence to destroy his reputation and career. (BASEBALL-DOPING-RODRIGUEZ/ (UPDATE 3), moved; may be led, by Ellen Wulfhorst, 550 words)

- -

Magic says Dodgers Won't Pursue Cano

Los Angeles Dodgers minority owner Magic Johnson tells USA Today that the club will not pursue pending free agent second baseman Robinson Cano. (BBO-DODGERS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE

*The Sports Xchange covers all NHL games. Key matchups outlined below

- -

Detroit at Carolina

CHARLOTTE - Eastern Conference newbies, the Detroit Red Wings shoot for a 2-0 start against the Carolina Hurricanes. (HKN-HURRICANES-REDWINGS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 2300 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

New York Islanders at New Jersey

NEWARK, N.J. - Veteran Martin Brodeur returns to the net for the New Jersey Devils in the season opener for the New York Islanders. (HKN-ISLANDERS-DEVILS-FIRSTLEDE/WRITETHRU (PIX), expect ASAP after the 2300 GMT/7 PM ET game, The Sports Xchange, 400-word first lede, 700-word writethru)

- -

Young season enters first weekend of action

Highlights of Friday's regular season National Hockey League games. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Injury updates

The latest on key injuries and player news for the Week 5 games ahead. (FBN-NEWS/, The Sports Xchange, length varies based on magnitude of news/injury, separates moved throughout afternoon Friday)

- -

Browns QB Hoyer Tears ACL; Weeden Regains Job

Brian Hoyer's short-lived run as the Cleveland Browns' starting quarterback for this season comes to an end with coach Rob Chudzinski announcing Hoyer will miss the remainder of the year with a torn ACL in his right knee suffered during Thursday night's victory over the Buffalo Bills. (FBN-BROWNS-NEWS/, moved, The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

NFL notebook

The latest news and notes from around the league. (FBN-NOTEBOOK/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM, The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Presidents Cup (to Oct. 6)

U.S. leads by a point heading into second day

DUBLIN, Ohio - The defending champion Americans, in pursuit of an eighth triumph against the Internationals in the biennial team competition, lead 3-1/2 to 2-1/2 going into today's foursomes matches at Muirfield Village Golf Club. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/ (PIX), expect first story by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, Simon Evans and Julian Linden, 550 words)

- -

Jamieson leads Britain and Ireland comeback

Scott Jamieson birdied the last two holes to seal a dramatic one-hole victory for himself and David Lynn as Britain and Ireland fight back on the second day of the Seve Trophy near Paris. (GOLF-TROPHY/, moved, 200 words)

See also: Dubai Desert Classic officials are inviting Javier Ballesteros, son of the late Seve, to take part in their 25th anniversary celebrations next year. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/DUBAI)

- - - -

AUTO RACING

Kansas notebook

KANSAS CITY - The latest buzz on and around the track before this weekend's Hollywood Casino 400. (CAR-SPRINT-NOTEBOOK/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, NASCAR WIRE SERVICE distributed by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Sprint Cup qualifying

KANSAS CITY - Live coverage of qualifying for the Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway. (CAR-SPRINT-NEWS/ (PIX), expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, NASCAR Wire Service distributed by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

IndyCar preview

HOUSTON - IndyCar returns stateside with a pair of races in Houston this weekend. (CAR-INDY-NEWS/, expect by 2230 GMT/6:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, NASCAR WIRE SERVICE distributed by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

WOMEN'S NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION

Sweep, stakes? Lynx seek unblemished run

Atlanta and Minnesota meet again in the WNBA Finals with the Fever looking to do something no other team has done in the 2013 postseason - deal the Lynx a loss. (BKN-NEWS/, expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

Serena breezes past Wozniacki to reach China semis

Serena Williams brushes aside former world No. 1 Caroline Wozniacki 6-1, 6-4 to advance to the semi-finals of the China Open. (TENNIS-WOMEN/CHINA, moved, 250 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

View Comments (0)