What's buzzing:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday, September 17

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday:

- -

SOCCER

Champions League group stage (1845 GMT)

Manchester United v Bayer Leverkusen

Real Sociedad v Shakhtar Donetsk

FC Copenhagen v Juventus

Galatasaray v Real Madrid

Olympiakos v Paris St Germain

Benfica v Anderlecht

Bayern Munich v CSKA Moscow

Viktoria Plzen v Manchester City

Bayern, Real, Manchester United begin campaigns

LONDON - Holders Bayern Munich, nine-times champions Real Madrid and Premier League champions Manchester United begin their bids to win Europe's elite club competition. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Martyn Herman, 800 words)

- -

Moyes leads Man United in Champions League for first time

MANCHESTER, England - Manchester United take on German side Bayer Leverkusen in manager David Moyes's first game at the helm in Europe's elite club competition. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/UNITED (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Sonia Oxley, 600 words)

- -

Sociedad begin first group stage campaign in 10 years

MADRID - Real Sociedad mark their first appearance in the group stage in a decade when they host Ukrainian side Shakhtar Donetsk in San Sebastian. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/SOCIEDAD (PIX) expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, pix, 400 words)

- -

Barca and Ajax look ahead to clash at the Nou Camp

BARCELONA - Barcelona coach Gerardo Martino, his Ajax Amsterdam counterpart Frank de Boer and players hold news conferences previewing Wednesday's Champions League Group H match at the Nou Camp. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/BARCELONA expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, pix, by Braden Phillips, 500 words)

- - - -

SAILING

America's Cup comes down to the wire

SAN FRANCISCO - The America's Cup competition resumes after a day off. Emirates Team New Zealand needs only two wins to take the trophy home but Oracle Team USA has turned around a disastrous early performance in the regatta, scoring two victories over the weekend. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Noel Randewich, 500 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: St Petersburg Open, Russia (to 22)

Metz Open, France (to 22)

WTA: Guangzhou International, China (to 21)

Korea Open, Seoul (to 22)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Pirates, Cards and Reds in battle for division crown

The Pittsburgh Pirates, St. Louis Cardinals and Cincinnati Reds, all locked in a tight battle for the National League Central crown with two weeks left in the season, are all in action three of the 15 games of the major league schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (London duty editor: Justin Palmer)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)