What's buzzing:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, September 26

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -

SAILING

America's Cup

Oracle Team USA complete remarkable comeback

SAN FRANCISCO - Oracle Team USA prevailed in a dramatic winner-take-all showdown with Emirates Team New Zealand on Wednesday to win the 34th America's Cup, completing a stirring comeback that helped make the once-troubled event among the most exciting in sailing history. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ moved, by Jonathan Weber, 500 words)

- -

New Zealand shrugs off America's Cup loss

WELLINGTON - New Zealand mourned a nail-biting loss in the America's Cup to holders Oracle team USA after Jimmy Spithill's vastly improved boat sealed victory in the winner-takes-all deciding race. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ZEALAND, moved, 450 words)

- -

Ainslie sets sights on British challenge

LONDON - Ben Ainslie, hailed as Britain's most celebrated sailor since Admiral Lord Nelson after helping Oracle Team USA to America's Cup victory, wants to win the 'Auld Mug' for his countrymen next time around. (SAILING-AMERICAS/BRITAIN, moved, 400 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

La Liga

Villarreal host Espanyol, Bilbao play at home to Betis

MADRID - Promoted Villarreal host Espanyol in a clash of fourth against fifth, while sixth-placed Athletic Bilbao are at home to Real Betis. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

World cycling championships

McQuaid, Cookson gear up for UCI vote

FLORENCE, Italy - Incumbent Pat McQuaid and challenger Brian Cookson have been trading blows in the UCI presidential campaign, the first since the Lance Armstrong scandal (CYCLING-UCI/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 600 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Malaysian Open, Kuala Lumpur (to 29)

Thailand Open, Bangkok (to 29)

WTA: Pan Pacific Open, Tokyo (to 28)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Three teams battling for two remaining playoff berths

The race for the two remaining American League wild card playoff berths kicks into high gear with Tampa Bay, Cleveland and Texas still in contention with four days left in the 162-game regular season. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Asia duty editor: Peter Rutherford)