What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, September 12

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Premier League

Ozil poised for Arsenal debut

LONDON - Arsenal fans waited a long time for a big summer signing and when the club smashed their transfer record on Mesut Ozil on deadline day the international break meant another delay before they could feast their eyes on him in club colours. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Bale could debut at Villarreal, Barca host Sevilla

MADRID - Real Madrid's record signing Gareth Bale could make his debut at Villarreal in Saturday's late game, after champions Barcelona host Sevilla. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

RUGBY

Rugby Championship (round four)

New Zealand v South Africa, Auckland

All Blacks juggle objectives ahead of Springboks clash

WELLINGTON - The double-edged sword of having to prepare for a World Cup defence and still win every game in between has never been more evident for New Zealand coach Steve Hansen than this weekend when his side face South Africa. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ZEALAND (PREVIEW), moved, by Greg Stutchbury, 650 words)

- -

Australia v Argentina, Perth

Wallabies seek end to misery with win over Pumas

MELBOURNE - The Wallabies will hope to prevent a wretched run of form turning into a full-blown crisis when they take on Argentina in Perth with out-of-sorts scrumhalf Will Genia demoted to the bench and backrower Ben Mowen leading the team in just his seventh test (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Ian Ransom, 600 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain

Nibali leads into Stage 18

PENA CARBAGA, Spain - Italy's Vincenzo Nibali is the overall leader going into Stage 18, 186.5-kilometre ride starting in Burgos and ending with a tough summit finish. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/1:15 PM ET, by Alasdair Fotheringham, 350 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

Zimbabwe v Pakistan, second test

Pakistan resume on 163-3 after Zimbabwe scored 294

HARARE - Pakistan, 1-0 up in the series, resume on 163-3 in reply to Zimbabwe's 294 on the third day at the Harare Sports Club with Younus Khan on 52 not out. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN/, expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

WTA: Tashkent Open, Uzbekistan (to 14)

Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada (to 15)

ATP: Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada (to 15)

Results only

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: BMW Championship (to 15)

Woods and McIlroy ready for title bids at Conway Farms

LAKE FOREST, Illinois - World number one Tiger Woods launches his bid for a sixth PGA Tour victory of the season in Thursday's opening round at Conway Farms Golf Club, venue for the third of the four lucrative FedExCup playoff events. Northern Irish world number four Rory McIlroy defends the title he won by two shots last year. (GOLF-PGA/, expect first story by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- - - -

BOXING

Mayweather puts unbeaten record on the line against Alvarez

Five-division world champion Floyd Mayweather Jr. puts his unbeaten record on the line when he challenges Mexican Saul "Canelo" Alvarez for the WBC and WBA super welterweight titles at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday. We preview the fight. (BOXING/MAYWEATHER (PREVIEW), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NFL

Patriots look to extend dominance of Jets

Tom Brady and the host New England Patriots will aim for a sixth consecutive victory over the AFC East rival New York Jets when the two undefeated teams clash in Week Two action. (NFL-PATRIOTS/, expect by 0415 GMT/12:15 A WT, 250 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Pirates, Cardinals eyeing top spot in division

The Pittsburgh Pirates host the Chicago Cubs while the Milwaukee Brewers visit the St. Louis Cardinals with the two home teams locked in a tight battle for top spot in the National League Central division. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

SAILING

America's Cup, San Francisco (to 22) (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

View Comments (0)