Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, Dec 12

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Europa League Group Stage

Kiev and PSV bid to reach Europa League knockout phase

LONDON - Dynamo Kiev and PSV Eindhoven aim to grab one of the six remaining spots in the Europa League knockout stages heading into the final round of group matches. (SOCCER-EUROPA/ (PIX), expect from 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Toby Davis, 500 words)

- -

Champions League

Dortmund leave it late, Milan limp into last 16

LONDON - Last season's runners-up Borussia Dortmund were spared a Champions League exit when a dramatic late goal from Kevin Grosskreutz sent the German side into the last 16 on Wednesday. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ (PIX), moved, by Justin Palmer, 700 words)

- -

Premier League

Leaders Arsenal face City test of title credentials

LONDON - Arsenal's lunchtime game at Manchester City on Saturday could be a defining one for their Premier League title hopes, even if Arsene Wenger has greeted that idea with a typically Gallic shrug. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Barca seeking return to winning ways at home to Villarreal

MADRID - Leaders Barcelona are looking to get back to winning ways after suffering a first defeat of the campaign at Athletic Bilbao when they host Villarreal on Saturday. Atletico Madrid, second on goal difference, host Valencia on Sunday and third-placed Real Madrid play at Osasuna on Saturday. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1100 GMT/6 AM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

The Ashes, third test, Perth (13-17)

Australia one victory away from winning back Ashes

Already 2-0 up in the series and with Mitchell Johnson running riot, Australia could hardly be more confident as they look to rout a dispirited England in the third Ashes test this week to recapture the coveted urn. (CRICKET-ASHES/PREVIEW, moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 700 words)

- -

New Zealand v West Indies, second test (till 15)

Early session could determine fate of second test

WELLINGTON - New Zealand will seek early wickets and try to dismiss the dangerous Marlon Samuels to turn the screw on the West Indies and try to set up a match-winning position on the third day of the second test. (CRICKET-WINDIES/ expect by 2330 GMT/6:30 PM ET, by Greg Stutchbury, 500 words)

- - - -

NFL

Chargers try to tame Manning's Broncos

The San Diego Chargers (6-7) hope to keep their playoff hopes alive when they visit Peyton Manning and the AFC-leading Denver Broncos (11-2) in the opening game Week 15. (NFL-BRONCOS/ (PIX), expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NBA

Portland looks to extend hot run versus Houston

The red-hot Portland Trail Blazers, seeking a sixth win in seven games, host the Houston Rockets while the Los Angeles Clippers visit the Brooklyn Nets in the night's other game. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NHL

Slumping Sharks look to snap skid versus Wild

The San Jose Sharks, in a battle for top spot in the Pacific Division despite losing four straight, look to halt their skid when they host the Minnesota Wild in one of 11 games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 850 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0101 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (London Duty Editor: Alan Baldwin)

Instantly join a new league.

League type:
Free Yahoo League
League size:
10 players
Draft time:
Sep 4 9:00 am
View Comments (0)