Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, June 8

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

- - - -

TENNIS

French Open men's final

PARIS - Spaniard Rafa Nadal is taking on old rival Novak Djokovic, who has won the first set 6-3. Nadal is gunning for a record extending ninth title on the Paris clay that has become a spiritual home while the Serbian aims to complete a career grand slam. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), match started at 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Pritha Sarkar, Julien Pretot and Alison Williams, 800 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

World Cup, Brazil (June 12-July 13)

We continue the build-up to the World Cup that starts on Thursday with reports on all the warmup matches and the latest injury and squad news. (SOCCER-WORLD/, expect throughout)

- -

Friendlies

Trinidad & Tobago v Iran

France v Jamaica

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Rosberg starts from pole as Mercedes chase seventh win

MONTREAL - Formula One championship leader Nico Rosberg will start from pole alongside team mate Lewis Hamilton as Mercedes look to continue their domination at the Canadian Grand Prix by claiming a seventh win from as many races this season. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), expect lead by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - - -

NHL

Stanley Cup Finals

Kings wary of relying on comeback magic

LOS ANGELES - The Los Angeles Kings insist that they cannot continue to rely on comeback victories but their remarkable post-season resilience has provided them with a winning formula and a 2-0 lead over the New York Rangers in the best-of-seven Stanley Cup Finals. (NHL-STANLEY/KINGS (PIX), by Jahmal Corner, expect by 1530 GMT/11.30 AM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

HORSE RACING

California Chrome's failure raises doubts about Triple Crown

NEW YORK - California Chrome's failure to win the Triple Crown has again triggered debate about whether the feat will ever be achieved again unless racing officials change the format. (HORSERACING-BELMONT/, by Julian Linden, expect first copy by 0230 GMT/7 PM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Nationals visit Padres, try to keep pace

The Washington Nationals, on a recent surge, try to hang tight in the razor-thin National League East race when they visit the San Diego Padres while division leaders the Atlanta Braves are on the road at Arizona in two of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

BASKETBALL

NBA Finals

Spurs seek a 2-0 lead over Heat

SAN ANTONIO - The San Antonio Spurs host the Miami Heat in Game Two of the NBA Finals. The Spurs won the opener by 15 points after LeBron James suffered leg cramps down the stretch and was forced to the bench. (NBA-FINALS/ (PIX), expect by 0245 GMT/10:45 PM ET, by Steve Ginsburg, 500 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: St Jude Classic (to 8), Memphis

Crane leads by four entering final day

American Ben Crane starts the day with a four-stroke lead at the FedEx St. Jude Classic, where the field will complete the third round and then play the final round at the TPC Southwind. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect lead by 0000GMT/8 PM ET, 450 words)

- -

European Tour: Austrian Open (to 8)

Copy on merit

- - - -

CRICKET

West Indies v New Zealand, Jamaica, first test (to 12)

Gayle set to reach century of caps

Hard-hitting opener Chris Gayle plays in his 100th test as a new-look West Indies team take on New Zealand in Kingston in the opening test of a three-match series. (CRICKET-ZEALAND/, expect end of day lead, 250 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Criterium du Dauphine (to 15)

Copy on merit

- - - -

ATHLETICS

IAAF World Challenge meetings

Hengelo, Netherlands

Marrakech, Morocco

Copy on merit

- - - - (London duty editor: Alan Baldwin)

View Comments (0)