What's buzzing:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, Dec 15

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1330 unless stated)

Aston Villa v Manchester United

Norwich City v Swansea City

Tottenham Hotspur v Liverpool (1600)

Liverpool aim for second at Spurs, United visit Villa

LONDON - Liverpool and their in-form Uruguay striker Luis Suarez visit Tottenham Hotspur looking for a win that would take them up to second place after inconsistent champions Manchester United visit Aston Villa. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/10:30 AM ET, by Justin Palmer, 500 words)

- -

La Liga

Almeria v Espanyol (1100)

Real Sociedad v Real Betis (1600)

Sevilla v Athletic Club (1800)

Atletico Madrid v Valencia (2000)

Atletico welcome Valencia aiming to keep pace with Barca

MADRID - Atletico Madrid host mid-table Valencia needing a win to keep pace with leaders Barcelona at the top of La Liga and move five points clear of Real Madrid, while Athletic Bilbao look to consolidate fourth spot at Sevilla. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Serie A (1400 unless stated)

Chievo Verona v Sampdoria

Fiorentina v Bologna

Genoa v Atalanta Bergamo

Lazio v Livorno

Parma v Cagliari

Udinese v Torino

Juventus v Sassuolo (1730)

Napoli v Inter Milan (1945)

Reeling Juve welcome Sassuolo, Napoli host Inter

MILAN - Juventus can open a six-point lead in Serie A with a home win over lowly Sassuolo while faltering Napoli, who are eight points off the pace in third, face former coach Walter Mazzarri when they host Inter Milan. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), by Terry Daley, expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 500 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Schalke 04 v Freiburg (1430)

Bayer Leverkusen v Eintracht Frankfurt (1630)

Leverkusen aim to move back within four points of Bayern

BERLIN - Bayer Leverkusen play Eintracht Frankfurt aiming for the win that will take them back within four points of Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich while Schalke 04 aim to bounce back against struggling Freiburg. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1630 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

- -

Ligue 1

Girondins Bordeaux v Valenciennes (1300)

Lille v Bastia (1600)

Olympique Lyon v Olympique Marseille (2000)

Copy on merit

- -

Dutch Championship (1330 unless stated)

SC Cambuur v Ajax Amsterdam (1130)

Feyenoord v Groningen

Heracles Almelo v AZ Alkmaar

Vitesse Arnhem v NAC Breda

Utrecht v PSV Eindhoven (1530)

Vitesse aim to move clear at the top, Ajax eye second spot

AMSTERDAM - Vitesse Arnhem can re-establish a lead at the top with a win over lowly NAC Breda while Ajax Amsterdam can move into second spot with a win at second-bottom Cambuur.(SOCCER-DUTCH/, expect by 1730 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 350 words)

- -

Club World Cup (to 21)

Our reporter Brian Homewood will bring you all the latest news from the Club World Cup in Morocco. (SOCCER-CLUB/)

- -

Argentine "Inicial" championship, final day:

Velez Sarsfield v San Lorenzo

Newell's Old Boys v Lanus

San Lorenzo can lift title with victory at Velez

BUENOS AIRES - San Lorenzo hold a two-point lead over their three title challengers including hosts Velez while Newell's Old Boys can still hope to retain the league crown at home to Lanus in Rosario. If two teams finish equal on points at the top there will be a title playoff. (SOCCER-ARGENTINA/CHAMPIONSHIP (PIX), expect by 0200 GMT / 9 PM ET, by Rex Gowar, 400 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

Australia v England, third Ashes test

England's hopes melt away at sweltering WACA

PERTH - David Warner punished a depleted and dispirited England with a brilliant century to help drive Australia to 235 for three and a dominant lead of 369 after the third day of the third Ashes test. (CRICKET-ASHES/ UPDATE 3 moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 700 words)

PERTH - Stuart Broad will not bowl again in the third Ashes test after injuring his right foot but he might bat in England's second innings and has not given up hope of rescuing the match (CRICKET-ASHES/BROAD, UPDATE 2 moved, by Nick Mulvenney)

- - - -

GOLF

Kuchar and English four ahead heading in Shootout event

Americans Matt Kuchar and Harris English will go into the final round of the Franklin Templeton Shootout team tournament in Naples, Florida, with a four-stroke lead over South African Retief Goosen and Swede Fredrik Jacobson. (GOLF-PGA/SHOOTOUT, expect by 2330 GMT/6:30 PM ET, 250 words)

- - - -

NFL

Seahawks try again for West clincher

EAST RUTHERFORD, New Jersey - The Seattle Seahawks, who stumbled last week against the San Francisco 49ers, will make another run at the NFC West division title and a first-round playoff bye when they visit the New York Giants, who have been eliminated from the postseason. (NFL-SEAHAWKS/ (PIX), expect first copy by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- -

Denver and New England go for division titles

Playoff possibilities loom for Denver, Kansas City, New England, New Orleans, Carolina and San Francisco as the end of the regular season draws closer. (NFL-WRAP/ (PIX), expect first copy by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, 500 words)

- -

Bears seek to move in front in NFC North

The Chicago Bears try to grab at least temporarily the NFC North lead over Detroit when they visit the Cleveland Browns and the Carolina Panthers host the New York Jets hoping to stay in the NFC playoff race. (NFL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect first copy by 2130 GMT/5:30 PM ET, 500 words)

- -

Bengals look to lock up playoff spot at Steelers

The Cincinnati Bengals will try to claim the AFC North title, or at least a playoff spot, when they play at the Pittsburgh Steelers, who still have a remote chance for a postseason berth despite a 5-8 record. (NFL-BENGALS/ (PIX), expect first copy by 0545 GMT/12:45 AM ET, 400 words)

- -

Factbox on NFL playoff picture (NFL-PLAYOFFS (FACTBOX)

- - - -

NBA

Thunder on a roll in Oklahoma City

The Oklahoma City Thunder, a perfect 11-0 at home this season and winners of five straight overall, host the Orlando Magic as they chase the Western Conference lead in one of six games on the schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

- - - -

NHL

Ducks go for another home win

The Pacific Division leading Anaheim Ducks, still undefeated in regulation games at home this season, host the Edmonton Oilers while the Los Angeles Kings travel to Chicago in two of six games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0101 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

ALPINE SKIING

World Cup: Women's Giant Slalom, St Moritz

Men's Giant Slalom, Val d'Isere

Copy on merit

- - - -

GAMES

Southeast Asian Games, Myanmar (to 21)

Copy on merit (London Duty Editor: Alan Baldwin)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)