Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, Dec 5

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -

World Cup draw

Blatter speaks ahead of draw ceremony

COSTA DO SAUIPE, Brazil - One day before the draw for the 2014 World Cup finals, FIFA president Sepp Blatter will report on the final decisions taken by FIFA's executive committee following their two-day meeting ahead of the ceremony. He is expected to confirm that prize money for the tournament will be around a third higher than in South Africa 2010. (SOCCER-WORLD/DRAW, expect by 1700 GMT /12 PM ET, by Mike Collett, 600 words) Other sidebars on merit.

- -

King's Cup

Barca, Real, Atletico to play third-tier opponents

MADRID - Barcelona, Real Madrid and holders Atletico Madrid play their last 32, first legs away at third-tier opponents Cartagena, Olimpic de Xativa and Sant Andreu respectively. (SOCCER-SPAIN/CUP (PREVIEW) expect by 1100 GMT/6 AM ET, by Tim Hanlon, 500 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

Ashes, second test, Adelaide (to 9)

Honours even on first day

ADELAIDE - England struck with three quick wickets in the afternoon after a long period of toil on a flat Adelaide Oval wicket before Australia reached 273 for five on the opening day of the second Ashes test. (CRICKET-ASHES/ (PIX), moved, by Ian Ransom, 600 words)

- -

South Africa v India, first ODI, Johannesburg

Erratic South Africa take on world champions

South Africa's erratic ODI side get a chance to measure their potential against the world champions in the first of a three-match series. (CRICKET-INDIA/, expect by 2000 GMT /1 PM ET, 300 words)

New Zealand v West Indies, first test (till 7)

NZ to push for victory over Windies in Dunedin

Brendon McCullum's New Zealand side are within a sniff of their first test victory in more than 12 months having reduced West indies to 167 for two in their second innings, still 228 runs from making the hosts bat again with two days remaining in the first test. (CRICKET-WINDIES/, expect from 2330 GMT/6:30 PM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Northwestern Mutual World Challenge (to 8)

Woods launches bid for his sixth victory in 2013

THOUSAND OAKS, California - Tournament host and five-times champion Tiger Woods launches his bid for a sixth victory of the year in Thursday's opening round at Sherwood Country Club where defending champion Graeme McDowell and double major winner Rory McIlroy are among those in the elite 18-player field. (GOLF-CHALLENGE/ (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/8PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- -

European Tour: Nedbank Challenge, Sun City (to Dec. 8)

Stenson and Rose lead title chase

World number three Henrik Stenson, U.S. Open champion Justin Rose and former world number ones Luke Donald and Martin Kaymer are among the title favourites at the elite 30-man event that carries a prize fund of $6.5 million. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1715 GMT/12:15 PM ET, 400 words)

Dyson waits to learn fate in cheat hearing

LONDON - Britain's Simon Dyson faces a European Tour disciplinary hearing after being disqualified from the BMW Masters in Shanghai in October for fixing a spike mark on the line of a putt. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/DYSON, 400 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Sporting KC and Real Salt Lake prepare for MLS Cup

We preview Saturday's MLS Cup final, where Sporting Kansas City and Real Salt Lake will clash in the postseason for the first time. (SOCCER-MLS/ (PREVIEW), expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, 550 words)

- - - -

NBA

Heat pay visit to struggling Bulls

The two-time defending NBA champion Miami Heat visit a struggling Chicago Bulls team that has just one win since losing former MVP Derrick Rose to a season-ending knee injury nearly two weeks ago in one of the three games on the schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 700 words)

- - - -

NHL

Red-hot Pens set for clash with streaking Sharks

Sidney Crosby and the streaking Pittsburgh Penguins host a red-hot San Jose Sharks team that is seeking a seventh consecutive in one of the 10 games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0101 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

(London Duty Editor: Ed Osmond)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)