Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday, October 2

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Champions League group stage (1845)

Group A

Bayer Leverkusen v Real Sociedad

Shakhtar Donetsk v Manchester United

Group B

Juventus v Galatasaray

Real Madrid v FC Copenhagen

Group C

Anderlecht v Olympiakos

Paris St Germain v Benfica

Group D

CSKA Moscow v Viktoria Plzen (1600)

Manchester City v Bayern Munich

Manchester City and United face contrasting challenges

LONDON - Stuttering Manchester clubs City and United face different challenges against European champions Bayern Munich at home and Ukrainian champions Shakhtar Donetsk away respectively in the Champions League. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ (WRAPUP 1, PIX), expect from 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Justin Palmer, 800 words)

- -

Real looking for European boost at home to Copenhagen

MADRID - Real Madrid attempt to put two poor La Liga performances behind them at home to FC Copenhagen but will be without the injured Gareth Bale as they try to make it two wins in two games in Champions League Group B. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/REAL (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/430 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Dutch Championship

ADO Den Haag v Vitesse Arnhem (1330)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GOLF

Presidents Cup

Captains Couples and Price to announce fourball pairings at Muirfield Village

DUBLIN, Ohio - United States captain Fred Couples and his Internationals counterpart Nick Price are scheduled to announce their pairings for Thursday's opening fourball matches as the teams complete preparations at Muirfield Village Golf Club. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/ (PIX), expect first story by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes and Simon Evans, 400 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Tigers aim to claw up one more rung for World Series ring

The Detroit Tigers have a trio of pitching aces and the best hitter on the planet in their quest to go one notch better than their 2012 season and claim the World Series crown. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/TIGERS (FEATURE), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 600 words)

- -

Indians host Rays in one-and-done wildcard

The Cleveland Indians host the Tampa Bay Rays in a do-or-die wild-card playoff to determine who advances to the best-of-five American League Division Series against the Boston Red Sox. (BASEBALL-WILDCARD/ (PIX), expect by 0345 GMT/11:45 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Braves happy entering playoffs under the radar

For the first time in nearly a decade, the Atlanta Braves have won the National League East division crown, raising fresh hopes they can rekindle their glory days and make a charge at winning the World Series. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/BRAVES (FEATURE), expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by Julian Linden, 600 words)

- - - -

NHL

Sabres open their season on road against Red Wings

Highlights of Wednesday's regular season National Hockey League games. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: China Open, Beijing (to 6)

ATP: Japan Open, Tokyo (to 6)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GYMNASTICS

World Championships, Antwerp (to 6)

Copy on merit (Duty editor: Ed Osmond)

View Comments