WATCH LIVE:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday, Oct 30

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

La Liga

Real Valladolid v Real Sociedad (1900)

Real Madrid v Sevilla (2100)

Osasuna v Rayo Vallecano (2100)

Valencia v Almeria (1900)

Real can make up ground on Atletico

MADRID - Real Madrid can give themselves a lift after Saturday's defeat at leaders Barcelona and close to within two points of second-placed city rivals Atletico, who play at Granada on Thursday, with a win over Sevilla. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Serie A (1945 unless stated)

Cagliari v Bologna

Fiorentina v Napoli

Genoa v Parma

Verona v Sampdoria

Juventus v Catania

Livorno v Torino

AC Milan v Lazio

Sassuolo v Udinese

Napoli and Juve aim to keep pressure on leaders Roma

MILAN - Second-placed Napoli visit Fiorentina while Juventus, who are level on points, host Catania with both sides desperate to keep the pressure on AS Roma who are five points clear at the top of Serie A before their match on Thursday. (SOCCER-ITALY, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Capital One (League) Cup fourth round (1945)

Newcastle United v Manchester City

Tottenham Hotspur v Hull City

Spurs and City eye quarter-finals

LONDON - Manchester City visit Newcastle United with both sides smarting from late defeats at the weekend while four-times League Cup winners Tottenham Hotspur host Hull City just days after they beat them 1-0 in the Premier League. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP, expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM ET, by Toby Davis, 400 words)

- -

French League Cup round of 32

Copy on merit

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Paris Masters (to Nov. 3)

Federer targets win to qualify for World Tour Finals

PARIS - Roger Federer aims to secure a place at next week's ATP World Tour finals by beating South African Kevin Anderson in the second round of the Paris Masters. (TENNIS-MEN/MASTERS (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 500 words)

- -

WTA: Tournament of Champions, Sofia (to Nov. 3)

Copy on merit

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix

Vettel set to match Schumacher's run of seven straight wins

ABU DHABI - Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel can move on from winning his fourth successive Formula One title last weekend by chalking up a seventh successive race victory on Sunday and equalling the longest winning streak in Formula One's modern era. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/PREVIEW (PIX), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We have also moved a drivers' form sheet and statistics for the race at Yas Marina.

- - - -

CRICKET

South Africa v Pakistan first ODI, Sharjah

Copy on merit

- - - -

OLYMPICS

SEOUL - So used to commanding the spotlight, South Korean figure skating queen Kim Yuna steps past her Sochi-bound colleagues and coaches, fixes her hair and sits down centre stage, ready to face the media.(OLYMPICS-SOCHI//KOREA (PIX, TV) moved, by Peter Rutherford, 500 words)

- -

SEOUL - South Korea's rise to the top of the speed skating world has been built on flawless technique and unparalleled work ethic, says coach Kevin Crockett, and it is his job to keep them there. (OLYMPICS/KOREA-OVERLAND (INTERVIEW, PIX), moved, by Peter Rutherford, 400 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Red Sox can claim World Series title with win

BOSTON - The Boston Red Sox, back home in Fenway Park, can collect the franchise's eighth World Series title with a victory over the St. Louis Cardinals in Game Six of the best-of-seven series. (BASEBALL-WORLDSERIES/ (PIX), expect first copy by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by Larry Fine and Julian Linden, 500 words)

- - - -

NBA

New-look Celtics begin rebuilding year in Toronto

TORONTO - The revamped Boston Celtics, with rookie coach Brad Stevens at the helm and standout guard Rajon Rondo recovering from knee surgery, travel to Toronto to face a Raptors team that has not made the playoffs since 2008. (NBA-RAPTORS/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/10:30 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

- - -

Thunder start quest for West at Utah

Western Conference contenders the Oklahoma City Thunder open their season on the road at Utah while in the East, the Brooklyn Nets visit the Cleveland Cavaliers in two of 14 games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- -

Coach Rivers gives Clippers a championship pedigree

LOS ANGELES - Widely viewed as the best team in the West, the Los Angeles Clippers harbor realistic hopes of winning their first NBA title this season with the championship pedigree of coach Doc Rivers now at the helm. Rivers has already made a big impression since his arrival in Los Angeles, urging his new team to play with both freedom and responsibility. (NBA-CLIPPERS/RIVERS/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 600 words)

- - - -

NHL

Canucks go for fifth straight win

The Vancouver Canucks, riding high on a four-game winning streak that has put them in contention for the Pacific Division lead, host the Detroit Red Wings in one of four games on the National Hockey League schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(Duty editor: Ed Osmond)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)